Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Lynn doubles up in race three at Taupo as Auer hits trouble

Lynn doubles up in race three at Taupo as Auer hits trouble

by Peter Allen

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Alex Lynn claimed his second victory of the Toyota Racing Series weekend at Taupo, with a lights-to-flag victory in the Denny Hulme Memorial Trophy feature race.

There was drama early on as second-place starter Lucas Auer tangled with Steijn Schothorst. Forced to visit the pits, the Austrian finished in 16th, a lap down. As a result he lost his championship lead to Nick Cassidy, who finished in second place to maintain his superb consistency.

Bruno Bonifacio completed a strong weekend in third place, following up his maiden victory in race two. Schothorst followed him across the line in fourth. Pipo Derani had finished fifth but was given a 50 second penalty for passing under yellow flags, dropping him to 14th.

Damon Leitch inherited fifth place with Felix Serralles in sixth – the Puerto Rican’s best result of a difficult weekend. Nicholas Latifi took seventh with Dennis Olsen in eighth, the Norwegian single-seater newcomer finishing all three races in the top ten. Andrew Tang and Michael Scott completed the top ten.

Despite not winning a race yet this season, Cassidy now leads the points standings, six ahead of Auer. Serralles and Lynn are 40 and 46 points off the lead respectively, while both Schothorst and Bonifacio are within a win of Cassidy. Next weekend sees the penultimate round of the campaign take place at Hampton Downs.

Race results
Pos Name Team Time/Gap
1 Alex Lynn M2 Competition 20 laps in 30:07.926
2 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition +3.040
3 Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport +13.111
4 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition +13.468
5 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing +16.451
6 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport +16.908
7 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport +17.203
8 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition +29.761
9 Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport +29.919
10 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing +30.609
11 Tanart Sathienthirakul ETEC Motorsport +35.909
12 Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport +39.076
13 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport +46.911
14 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport +1:05.781
15 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport +1:12.191
16 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Spike Goddard M2 Competition +20 laps
Championship standings
Pos Driver Team Points
1 Nick Cassidy M2 Competition 517
2 Lucas Auer Giles Motorsport 511
3 Felix Serralles Giles Motorsport 477
4 Alex Lynn M2 Competition 471
5 Steijn Schothorst M2 Competition 451
6 Bruno Bonifacio Giles Motorsport 448
7 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 415
8 Pipo Derani Giles Motorsport 335
9 Nicholas Latifi Giles Motorsport 316
10 Jann Mardenborough ETEC Motorsport 314
11 Tatiana Calderon ETEC Motorsport 280
12 Akash Nandy ETEC Motorsport 263
13 Tanart Satienthirakul ETEC Motorsport 261
14 Dennis Olsen M2 Competition 254
15 Michael Scott Victory Motor Racing 207
16 Andrew Tang ETEC Motorsport 190
17 Spike Goddard M2 Competition 156
18 Ryan Cullen M2 Competition 122