Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Bernstorff charges through the field to win race two at the Sachsenring

Bernstorff charges through the field to win race two at the Sachsenring

by Stephen Goddard

Photo: Alexander Trienitz/formel3.de

Brit Emil Bernstorff took the win in race two of the ATS Formel 3 Cup this afternoon in tricky conditions at the Sachsenring.

The race was started behind the safety car, but after several laps the cars went racing. Pole man Sebastian Balthasar made a strong get away with Bernstorff making a strong getaway from seventh to follow the German into turn one.

The Brit eventually found his way pass the German on lap two of racing and drove off into the distance. Meanwhile, the battle for third place was heating up with Hubertus-Carlos Vier coming under increased pressure from Thomas J?ger and Artem Markelov.

However, on lap five Markelov spun falling back behind Matteo Cairoli and race one winner Marvin Kirchh?fer. Vier was defending brilliantly from J?ger until lap five when the young German spun off into the gravel and into retirement. This promoted the Austrian into third place but he too would the victim of a spin two laps later, damaging his front right suspension after contact with the barriers.

This would promote Kirchh?fer into third and Markelov, who had made his way past Cairoli, into fourth. The pair set off after Balthasar and both made their way past with two and one lap remaining respectively and that is how it would remain.

Balthasar came in fourth, taking his second Trophy class win of the day, while Nabil Jeffri came home in fifth. Cairoli came home in sixth ahead of the recovering Gustavo Menezes and John-Bryant Meisner. Jordi Weckx and Freddy Killensberger occupied the final points scoring positions in ninth and tenth respectively.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Emil Bernstorff Lotus 13 laps in 20:59.302
2 Marvin Kirchh?fer Lotus +9.462
3 Artem Markelov Lotus +14.947
4 Sebastian Balthasar GU-Racing +17.169
5 Nabil Jeffri EuroInternational +23.904
6 Matteo Cairoli ADM Motorsport +32.458
7 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing +35.273
8 John Bryant-Meisner Performance Racing +37.948
9 Jordi Weckx Van Amersfoort Racing +59.259
10 F.Killensberger GU-Racing +1:01.888
11 Sheban Siddiqi Lotus +1:11.850
12 Maximilian Hackl Franz Woss Racing +1 lap
13 Andreas Germann CR Racing Team +2 laps
14 Luca Iannaccone TTCmotorsport +2 laps
Not classified
Thomas J?ger Performance Racing 7 laps
Hubertus-Carlos Vier TTCmotorsport 5 laps