Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Bruno Bonifacio wins Spa race one from pole position

Bruno Bonifacio wins Spa race one from pole position

by Luis Miguel Martinez

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

After starting from pole position, Bruno Bonifacio won race one in the Spa-Francorchamps round to take the runner up spot in the championship in front of Pierre Gasly who is not participating in this round.

Championship Leader Antonio Fuoco ended the race in second place making it a Prema 1-2, but he was later penalised, promoting Polish driver Jakub Dalewski.

Bonifacio dominated the race from lights to flag. On the first lap, in the straight to Les Combes, Egor Orudzhev, made slight contact with Fuoco and spun out, hitting the railings and the car of Luca Ghioto. A red flag was called, on lap two, courtesy of Luke Chudleigh hitting the barrier in the Raidillon corner.

After the restart we had a lot of overtaking and smooth driving until the last laps when Hans Villemi spun out from seventh place and Gregor Ramsay went to the gravel.

At the end Bonifacio won the race with Fuoco second, and Dalewski third. Fourth was Kevin Jorg, in fifth was Marcos Siebert who pulled a late overtake in the last lap over Guilherme Silva who ended sixth. Seventh was Konstantin Tereschenko, eighth was Andrew Tang, with Uyko Sasahara ninth and Joffrey De Narda in tenth, collecting his first point of the season.

?We do not have a team order policy, then I just had to be careful not to let my team mate come close. At the beginning I?ve managed to open a small gap that allowed me to handle the race. This win is important for my championship. From now on the key will be seizing points in any occasion,? commented Bonifacio, who closed the championship gap with Fuoco to 16 points after the Ferrari protege was handed a 25 second penalty, dropping him to 14th. Siebert was penalised ten seconds, relegating him to ninth.

Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 12 laps in 47:45.974
2 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +6.908
3 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport +7.453
4 Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP +10.103
5 Konstantin Tereschenko Interwetten.com Racing +10.411
6 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport +13.047
7 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing +16.938
8 Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering +19.501
9 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport +19.749
10 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing +21.858
11 Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing +22.497
12 Kevin Gilardoni GSK Grand Prix +22.768
13 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering +25.530
14 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam +26.398
15 Dennis Olsen AV Formula +27.748
16 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +32.850
17 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing +36.805
18 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport +36.986
19 Alex Bosak SMP Racing by Koiranen +40.959
20 Ivan Taranov Tech 1 Racing +41.416
21 Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport +42.126
22 Semen Evstigneev SMP Racing by Koiranen +43.893
23 Daniele Cazzaniga Viola Formula Racing +45.428
24 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +51.693
25 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Grand Prix +52.326
26 Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen +2 laps
27 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing +2 laps
Not classified
Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing 2 laps
Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 0 laps
Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam 0 laps