Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Bernier takes maiden ADAC F4 win as Crawford and Duerksen collide

Bernier takes maiden ADAC F4 win as Crawford and Duerksen collide

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ADAC F4

Victor Bernier claimed his first ADAC Formula 4 victory at Hockenheim after a race-long battle with Jak Crawford.

The race ended a few laps early with a red flag after a late lunge from Joshua Duerksen that wiped out Crawford.

Bernier had already taken the race lead, after many laps of half-moves and pulling alongside Crawford, and was beginning to pull away from the rest of the field when Duerksen attempted to pass three drivers up the inside at the hairpin with less than five minutes on the clock.

The Mucke Motorsport driver locked up, colliding with Crawford, but the rest of the field were able to avoid the pair. The safety car was brought out but, with time quickly running out, the race would not be resumed.

It had been a close-fought battle at the front of the field up until that point. Bernier was the main driver putting pressure on long-time race leader Crawford, but Gabriele Mini, Elias Seppanen and Duerksen were never too far behind.

After the incident, Mini and Seppanen were promoted to second and third, but the results were counted back a lap due to the red flag. Crawford was therefore classified second, ahead of Seppanen and Mini.

Durksen was recorded fifth, but may lose that position due to the clash.

Fracesco Pizzi spent the first half of the race battling Van Amersfoort Racing team-mate Johnny Edgar. The pair made contact and Edgar suffered a puncture that dropped him down the order.

Pizzi was able to continue to come home sixth, ahead of US Racing pair Tim Tramnitz and Ollie Bearman, while Sebastian Montoya took fastest lap on the way to ninth place for Prema.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Victor Bernier R-ace GP 15 laps
2 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +0.825s
3 Elias Seppanen US Racing +1.249s
4 Gabriele Mini Prema +1.740s
5 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +1.830s
6 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +2.316s
7 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +2.609s
8 Ollie Bearman US Racing +2.985s
Sebastian Montoya
Prema +6.797s
10 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport +9.305s
11 Vlad Lomko US Racing +9.637s
12 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +13.941s
13 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +19.678s
14 Hamda Al Qubaisi Iron Lynx +20.406s
15 Kirill Smal R-ace GP +21.592s
16 Dino Beganovic Prema +36.320s
17 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +1m06.797s
Fastest lap: Montoya, 1m41.896s

Championship standings
1 Edgar 136   2 Seppanen 124   3 Crawford 102   4 Bernier 91   5 Tramnitz 91   6 Duerksen 90   7 Mini 82   8 Bearman 51   9 Pizzi 36   10 Lomko 29