Home Formula 4British F4 Hedley holds off Stevenson for second Thruxton win in British F4

Hedley holds off Stevenson for second Thruxton win in British F4

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

James Hedley held off Casper Stevenson to make it two wins from two races in British Formula 4 at Thruxton.

The JHR Developments driver got a good start and managed to avoid drama on the opening lap, in which Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan, Arden’s Alex Connor and Fortec Motorsports’ Luke Browning all ran into issues.

O’Sullivan plummeted to the back of the order while Connor was forced to pit a few laps later due to damage to his car.

Browning was able to continue, albeit at the bottom of the top 10, and set about climbing back up through the order.

Hedley led Arden’s Roman Bilinski and Frederick Lubin after the opening lap, but fourth placed Stevenson was flying. The series scholarship winner set multiple consecutive fastest laps of the race and quickly dispatched of Lubin and Bilinski.

He brought the challenge to Hedley in the closing stages, getting within half a second of the race leader. Argenti Motorsport’s Stevenson wasn’t close enough to make a move, but tried to pressure Hedley into make a mistake. Hedley held firm and, as in race one, made no mistakes on his way to the victory.

Bilinski held off Lubin to deny the rookie his first overall podium.

Behind them, Hedley’s team-mate Abbi Pulling spent the race defending against Christian Mansell and then Browning. Browning and Pulling were almost side-by-side as the approached the chequered flag, but Pulling just kept her nose ahead for take fifth.

Carlin driver Mansell, who dropped away from the fight after being passed by Browning, took seventh ahead of the sole Fortec Motorsports entry of Rafael Villgomez, and Matias Zagazeta.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Hedley JHR Developments 21m08.948s
2 Casper Stevenson Argenti Motorsport +0.364s
3 Roman Bilinski Arden +4.385s
4 Frederick Lubin Arden +5.113s
5 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments +7.182s
6 Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports +7.328s
7 Christian Mansell Carlin +18.104s
8 Rafael Villagomez Fortec Motorsports +18.952s
9 Matias Zagazeta Carlin +25.071s
10 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +49.769s
Ret Reema Juffali Argenti Motorsport
Ret Alex Connor Arden
Fastest lap: Stevenson, 1m13.836s

Championship standings
1 Browning 250   2 O’Sullivan 200   3 Stevenson 168   4 Hedley 151   5 Connor 146   6 Bilinski 106   7 Roberto Faria 99   8 Pulling 81   9 Mansell 78   10 Lubin 51