Home News Boya wins Spanish F4 opener at Jerez, ten Brinke second on debut

Boya wins Spanish F4 opener at Jerez, ten Brinke second on debut

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Spanish F4

Mari Boya held off debuting team-mate Thomas ten Brinke to win the opening race of the weekend at Jerez in Spanish Formula 4.

The Spaniard had to hold off Dutch driver ten Brinke, the 2019 world junior karting champion, who was contesting his first ever car race and looked immediately quick. Boya ended up denying ten Brinke a debut success by 0.385 seconds.

The result moves Boya up to second in the drivers championship ahead of Oliver Goethe, who ended the race in eighth place. Just one point separates him and championship leader Kas Haverkort, who retired from the race.

Swiss driver Joshua Dufek completed a podium lockout for MP Motorsport, while Drivex School’s Ivan Nosov fended off Global Racing Service’s Lorenzo Fluxa and Praga F4’s Quique Bordas at the line to take fourth, with just 0.285s separating the three drivers.

French driver Enzo Joullie came home in seventh ahead of Goethe, after starting the weekend with a strong performance in wet qualifying to take pole, while GRS duo Alex Garcia and Suleiman Zanfari rounded out the points.


Race results (15 laps) 
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 28m23.019s
2 Thomas ten Brinke MP Motorsport +0.385s
3 Joshua Dufek MP Motorsport +5.454s
4 Ivan Nosov Drivex School +9.712s
5 Lorenzo Fluxa Global Racing Service +10.157s
6 Quique Bordas Praga F4 +10.489s
7 Enzo Joullie MP Motorsport +12.636s
8 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +12.808s
9 Alex Garcia Global Racing Service +14.765s
10 Suleiman Zanfari Global Racing Service +24.475s
11 Javier Sagrera MOL Racing +24.948s
12 Paul-Adrien Pallot Drivex School +31.182s
13 Ignacio Montenegro MP Motorsport +33.277s
14 Mehrbod Shameli Xcel Motorsport +38.654s
Ret Carles Martinez Praga F4
Ret Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport
Ret Valdemar Eriksen Drivex School
Ret Eloy Sebastian Lopez Global Racing Service
Ret Lena Buhler Drivex School
Pole: Joullie, 1m50.551s      Fastest lap: ten Brinke, 1m45.175s

Championship standings
1 Haverkort 96   2 Boya 95   3 Goethe 83   4 Ugran 55   5 Fluxa 50   6 Dufek 44   7 Francesco Simonazzi 23   8 Nosov 23   9 Eriksen 21   10 Collinot 20