Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Beckmann wins on countback after horror crash with Norris

Beckmann wins on countback after horror crash with Norris

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC F4

Photo: ADAC F4

David Beckmann was declared the winner of an incident-filled second ADAC F4 race at Hockenheim, which was red-flagged due to a scary crash between Beckmann and teammate Lando Norris.

The duo battled for the lead for much of the race after champion Marvin Dienst missed his braking point at the hairpin and gave up the top spot.

The race featured three safety car periods, triggered by a mechanical failure for Janneau Esmeijer, retirements for Jonathan Cecotto and Cedric Piro and a hairpin crash between Mike David Ortmann and Kim-Luis Schramm respectively.

On the final restart, Norris was all over Beckmann for the lead and ended up going over his teammate’s rear wing on approach to the Mercedes corner.

He was briefly airborne and slowed in the gravel, where he rolled. The red flag came out immediately and, while Beckmann limped to the pits, Norris needed to be extricated from his Mucke machine and was carried into the medical car on a stretcher.

With the race results rolled back to lap 13, Beckmann was declared provisional winner, ahead of Norris and Joey Mawson.

Dienst recovered to fourth, with Mick Schumacher in fifth and Jason Kremer passing Tim Zimmermann for sixth.

Joel Eriksson took eighth, with Harrison Newey and Kami Laliberte making up the top ten.

If the results stands, it will be recorded as Beckmann’s first ADAC F4 win and he will have become the series’ rookie champion.