Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bearman extends Italian F4 lead with back-to-back Misano wins

Bearman extends Italian F4 lead with back-to-back Misano wins

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Oliver Bearman won the final Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Misano as Van Amersfoort Racing team-mates Nikita Bedrin and Bence Valint came together in a dramatic collision.

Bearman had extended a considerable gap at the front of the field when Bedrin ran over the back of Valint’s car. Bedrin went airbourne and came to a stop in the gravel, while Vallnt was spun and suffered significant damage to the rear of his car.

Both drivers were wiped out of the race, bringing out the safety car with just five minutes on the clock.

The race was restarted with time for a one lap dash to the flag. Bearman was able to hold off Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli to take his second win of the weekend and extend his lead at the top of the championship standings.

Fornaroli had challenged Bearman for the race lead early on. He briefly claimed first place on the opening lap, only to run wide and allow Bearman back through. He was left to battle to stay ahead of Sebastian Montoya throughout the second half of the race, but the Prema driver was never close enough to make a move.

Montoya finished a comfortable third, ahead of Kirill Smal (Prema) and Sami Megeutounif (R-ace GP).

VAR’s Joshua Dufek had a strong climb up through the order, picking off R-ace GP’s Victor Bernier and Prema’s Hamda Al Qubaisi to take sixth.

Al Qubaisi tried to fight back and retook the position for a short time, but started to fall backwards in the closing stages of the race. Bernier and Han Cenyu managed to pass Al Qubaisi late on and she ended the race narrowly ahead of Lorenzo Patrese in ninth.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 19 laps
2 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +0.532s
3 Sebastian Montoya Prema +1.366s
4 Kirill Smal Prema +1.701s
5 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP +2.524s
6 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +2.706s
7 Victor Bernier R-ace GP +3.162s
8 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +4.066s
9 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +4.576s
10 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport +4.966s
11 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport +5.424s
12 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +5.622s
13 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport +5.939s
14 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +6.528s
15 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +7.070s
16 Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing +7.657s
17 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +7.861s
18 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport +8.364s
19 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport +8.896s
20 Marcus Amand R-ace GP +9.021s
21 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx +9.053s
22 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +10.114s
23 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport +10.200s
24 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport +10.332s
25 Pedro Perino DR Formula +10.543s
Ret Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing
Ret Conrad Laursen Prema
Fastest lap: Dufek, 1m34.810s

Championship standings
1 Bearman 107   2 Fornaroli 80   3 Tim Tramnitz 68   4 Smal 66   5 Montoya 63   6 Bernier 34   7 Vlad Lomko 33   8 Luke Browning 27   9 Meguetounif 22   10 Duerksen 20