Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Bearman bosses ADAC F4 qualifying for double Zandvoort pole

Bearman bosses ADAC F4 qualifying for double Zandvoort pole

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ADAC

Ollie Bearman topped the two ADAC Formula 4 qualifying sessions at Zandvoort for his third and fourth poles of the season.

Both sessions were disrupted with red flags late on, bringing an early end to running each time.

Q1 was cut short by a little over a minute, shortly after Bearman lowered the fastest lap to 1m34.738s. He had topped the order early on, briefly dropped down to second, behind US Racing’s Luke Browning, but quickly reclaimed the position.

Prema’s Sebastian Montoya also improved just before the red flag to go second quickest, ahead of US’s Tim Tramnitz.

Browning, who completed one lap less than those round him, would end the session fourth.

Kirill Smal took fifth ahead of Vlad Lomko, early frontrunner Joshua Dufek and Bence Valint. Victor Bernier and Leonardo Fornaroli completed the top 10.

Bernier would enjoy a stronger Q2, briefly running as high as second before a flurry of flying laps shortly before another red flag.

This time, Jenzer Motorsport’s Francesco Braschi and Prema’s Hamda Al Qubaisi set the pace early on.

Bearman soon jumped up the order and took the top spot. Once again, he was briefly dethroned, this time by Tramnitz, but would reclaim provisional pole position with a 1m34.44s lap.

Dufek took second ahead of Smal and Nikita Bedrin.

The red flag this time was brought out almost four minutes before the scheduled end of the session, with an incident at turn three, leaving a few drivers out of position.

Montoya would only qualify fifth quickest, while Browning ended the session eighth overall, just ahead of Tramnitz and behind Al Qubaisi.

Qualifying round-up
Race 1 grid
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.738s
2 Sebastian Montoya Prema +0.202s
3 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +0.392s
4 Luke Browning US Racing +0.486s
5 Kirill Smal Prema +0.704s
6 Vlad Lomko US Racing +0.732s
7 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +0.732s
8 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +0.806s
9 Victor Bernier R-ace GP +0.835s
10 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +0.945s

Race 2 grid
1 Bearman 1m34.407s
2 Dufek +0.386s
3 Smal +0.416s
4 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing +0.447s
5 Montoya +0.454s
6 Bernier +0.487s
7 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +0.517s
8 Browning +0.545s
9 Tramnitz +0.550s
10 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP +0.597s