Home Formula 3GB3 Hitech’s Horsten goes fastest, then into the gravel, in British F3 test

Hitech’s Horsten goes fastest, then into the gravel, in British F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Bart Horsten headed the second day of BRDC British Formula 3’s pre-event Donington Park test, although he ended up in the gravel after setting his fastest lap.

The Australian went off at the Esses, but despite losing track time he wasn’t moved off the top spot.

Arden’s debuting Roman Bilinski came closest, 0.066 seconds off Horsten’s benchmark 1m25.095s lap, and his team-mate Alex Connor topped the afternoon session with a lap that was 0.127s off Horsten’s morning best.

The top five was completed by Roberto Faria, who was third fastest in the morning and then caused a lengthy red flag stoppage in the afternoon by going into the gravel, and the afternoon’s second fastest driver Zak O’Sullivan.

Elite Motorsport’s Tom Lebbon was sixth, just over two tenths of a second slower than Horsten. Lebbon’s team-mate Javier Sagrera, who had set the pace in Thursday’s running, was eighth fastest overall on Friday.

Of the 17-car field, only Fortec Motorsports’ Mikkel Grundtvig and Douglas Motorsport’s Reema Juffali were more than a second off Horsten’s pace.

Test results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Bart Horsten Hitech GP 1m25.095s 37
2 Roman Bilinski Arden 1m25.161s +0.066s 40
3 Alex Connor Arden 1m25.222s +0.127s 38
4 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports 1m25.277s +0.182s 33
5 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m25.295s +0.200s 38
6 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport 1m25.305s +0.210s 35
7 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m25.531s +0.436s 37
8 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport 1m25.608s +0.513s 34
9 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing 1m25.632s +0.537s 35
10 Christian Mansell Carlin 1m25.758s +0.663s 39
11 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP 1m25.764s +0.669s 40
12 Jose Garfias Elite Motorsport 1m25.827s +0.732s 37
13 Dexter Patterson Douglas Motorsport 1m25.881s +0.786s 35
14 Bryce Aron Carlin 1m25.950s +0.855s 40
15 Max Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing 1m26.062s +0.967s 38
16 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports 1m26.415s +1.320s 39
17 Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport 1m26.476s +1.381s 35