Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Barnicoat gets Silverstone FIA F3 reversed-grid pole after Novalak penalty

Barnicoat gets Silverstone FIA F3 reversed-grid pole after Novalak penalty

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Ben Barnicoat will start the fourth Silverstone race in the FIA Formula 3 Championship from reversed-grid pole position after Carlin team-mate Clement Novalak was penalised.

British F3 champion Novalak had originally passed Barnicoat en-route to continuing his strong points-scoring record in race one, eventually taking the chequered flag in ninth after getting ahead of Lirim Zendeli.

However, stewards later established that Novalak had made that pass on Zendeli by going off the track at Stowe.

They determined that Zendeli had been ahead on the inside line when Novalak went wide beyond the kerbs and emerged back on track in front of his rival.

Novalak was given a five-second penalty, demoting him to 13th place and promoting Zendeli to ninth and Barnicoat to 10th.

That gives Barnicoat his first point in a single-seater race since 2016, having made his comeback in place of Enaam Ahmed at last week’s British Grand Prix.

Stewards also handed Matteo Nannini a grid penalty for the penultimate-lap contact with Sebastian Fernandez that left him stranded in the Stowe gravel trap.

Nannini had been on course for his best FIA F3 finish yet when he was challenged for 13th place by Fernandez and made contact with the ART driver.


Revised race result (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Logan Sargeant Prema 36m14.262s
2 Jake Hughes HWA +1.552s
3 Liam Lawson Hitech +2.025s
4 Frederik Vesti Prema +2.339s
5 David Beckmann Trident +4.870s
6 Theo Pourchaire ART +9.370s
7 Oscar Piastri Prema +10.087s
8 Bent Viscaal MP +10.705s
9 Lirim Zendeli Trident +11.535s
10 Ben Barnicoat Carlin +12.072s
11 Cameron Das Carlin +14.284s
12 Clement Novalak Carlin +16.082s
13 Alexander Smolyar ART +17.215s
14 Alex Peroni Campos +17.715s
15 David Schumacher Charouz +20.475s
16 Max Fewtrell Hitech +21.368s
17 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA +22.278s
18 Igor Fraga Charouz +22.971s
19 Richard Verschoor MP +23.441s
20 Sophia Floersch Campos +24.078s
21 Olli Caldwell Trident +24.369s
22 Roman Stanek Charouz +25.014s
23 Lukas Dunner MP +31.254s
24 Sebastian Fernandez ART +33.229s
25 Alessio Deledda Campos +39.766s
26 Jack Doohan HWA +1m32.548s
Matteo Nannini Jenzer
Calan Williams Jenzer
Federico Malvestiti Jenzer
Dennis Hauger Hitech
Fastest lap: Lawson, 1m47.66s

Championship standings:
1 Piastri 100   2 Sargeant 106   3 Beckmann 74.5   4 Lawson 71   5 Vesti 67.5   6 Pourchaire 59   7 Verschoor 47   8 Peroni 42   9 Hughes 31.5   10 Novalak 31