Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship ART GP’s Lundgaard fastest in FIA F3 Hungaroring practice

ART GP’s Lundgaard fastest in FIA F3 Hungaroring practice

by Kyran Gibbons

Photo: FIA Formula 3

ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard finished fastest in FIA Formula 3 practice at the Hungaroring, as no Prema cars made it into the top four.

Lundgaard surged to the top of the timesheet in the closing stages of the 45-minute session, having been largely anonymous during the early runs.

His session-best effort in the third sector was eclipsed by HWA’s Jake Hughes, but the Brit was unable to depose Lundgaard and slotted into third place behind Trident’s Pedro Piquet.

Piquet appeared most likely to snatch top spot at the chequered flag, recording the best sector one time. Lundgaard’s ART team-mate Max Fewtrell improved late on to leap up to fourth.

Prema, runaway leader in the teams’ championship with over double the points of second-placed Hitech GP, slipped down the timesheet in the closing stages, despite having held the top three spots in just over five minutes remaining.

Points leader Robert Shwartzman ended up fifth despite provisionally holding the best time in all three sectors. He edged team-mate Marcus Armstrong after a session-long duel, while Jehan Daruvala drove the third Prema entry to 12th.

Hitech’s Leonardo Pulcini and Juri Vips were eighth and ninth, the latter flying up the order with a final lap good enough to turn a provisional 24th into eighth. Alex Peroni (Campos Racing) and Niko Kari (Trident) rounded out the top 10.

Raoul Hyman sat at the top of the timesheet with eight minutes left on the clock, but the Sauber Junior Team driver slipped to 17th after failing to improve.

Carlin’s Teppei Natori was 23rd fastest, and having missed the weighbridge during the session ended up having his lap times prior to that point deleted.


Free Practice results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m32.771s
2 Pedro Piquet Trident +0.034s
3 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +0.131s
4 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix +0.145s
5 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.200s
6 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.246s
7 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +0.320s
8 Juri Vips Hitech GP +0.407s
9 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +0.432s
10 Niko Kari Trident +0.474s
11 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +0.520s
12 Jehan Daruvala Prema +0.531s
13 David Beckmann ART Grand Prix +0.706s
14 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.716s
15 Sebastian Fernandez Arden +0.720s
16 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport +0.764s
17 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.823s
18 Logan Sargeant Carlin +0.906s
19 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +1.007s
20 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport +1.051s
21 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab +1.077s
22 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +1.105s
23 Teppei Natori Carlin +1.259s
24 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +1.281s
25 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +1.447s
26 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1.493s
27 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +1.561s
28 Yifei Ye Hitech GP +1.668s
29 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +1.671s
30 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +2.179s