Home Formula 4Italian F4 Aron dominates Italian F4 opener at Vallelunga

Aron dominates Italian F4 opener at Vallelunga

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ACI Sport

Photo: ACI Sport

Estonian racer Ralf Aron delivered a win for reigning champions Prema in the first Italian F4 race of 2015 at Vallelunga.

Aron led the field off the line and had little trouble controlling the race over the distance.

The Estonian managed a decent getaway off the line, but had to fend off teammate Guanyu Zhou into turn one.

However, that’d be about as close as anyone got to troubling Aron, with the rest of the action going on further down the pack.

Promising Venezuelan Mauricio Baiz was in the barriers on lap one, marking the beginning of the chaos in what ended up being a very hectic race.

Marcos Siebert was up to fourth behind Joao Vieira at the start, but soon came under huge pressure from battling Mucke teammates Robert Shwartzman and David Beckmann.

Shwartzman did get through, but Siebert was very aggressive in defending from Beckmann, the duo nearly coming together on several occasions and falling into the clutches of Giuliano Raucci and Matteo Desideri.

Inevitably, Siebert and Beckmann clashed after moving towards each other on a straight. Beckmann went around but escaped relatively unscathed, while Siebert was off with a broken suspension. Both Raucci and Desideri also picked up damage.

The crash allowed Yan Leon Shlom into fifth, but he was soon passed by Jenzer’s Nico Rindlisbacher.

Out front with ten minutes to go, Vieira passed Zhou and settled for second, with Aron out of reach at five seconds ahead.

The Ferrari junior was then also passed by Shwartzman, who was very quick in the last stages of the race and almost cleared Vieira as well.

Behind the leading four, Rindlisbacher recorded his best finish in cars, while Kevin Kanayet, who started last, marked his debut with sixth, inheriting a spot after teammate Shlom spun under pressure.

Marino Sato was shuffled down early on but recovered to second, ahead of Lucas Mauron, Bar Baruch and Beckmann.

Mucke’s Thomas Preining was among the most notable performers of the race, charging through the field before having to pit to repair damage on the front wing.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam 19 laps in 30’17.567
2 Joao Vieira Antonelli Motorsport +5.940
3 Robert Shwartzman Mucke Motorsport +6.524
4 Guanyu Zhou Prema Powerteam +9.843
5 Nico Rindlisbacher Jenzer Motorsport +30.541
6 Kevin Kanayet Malta Formula Racing +30.717
7 Marino Sato Vincenzo Sospiri Racing +31.243
8 Lucas Mauron Jenzer Motorsport +33.367
9 Bar Baruch Israel F4 +36.488
10 David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +42.406
11 Mattia Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +44.676
12 Yan Leon Shlom Malta Formula Racing +49.109
13 Riccardo Ponzio Teramo Racing Team +50.792
14 Kikko Galbiati Antonelli Motorsport +55.146
15 Fernando Madera Team Costa Rica +58.409
16 Julia Pankiewicz RB Racing +1:11.739
17 Wiktoria Pankiewicz RB Racing +1:13.405
18 Ali Al Khalifa Jenzer Motorsport +1:18.584
19 Thomas Preining Mucke Motorsport +1 lap
20 Alex Peroni Torino Squadra Corse +2 laps
Not classified
Diego Bertonelli RB Racing +8 laps
Giuliano Raucci Prema Powerteam +10 laps
Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport +11 laps
Matteo Desideri Antonelli Motorsport +11 laps
Raul Guzman Malta Formula Racing +15 laps
Mauricio Baiz Vincenzo Sospiri Racing +19 laps