Home Formula 4Italian F4 Antonelli’s Italian F4 supremacy continues with 12th win

Antonelli’s Italian F4 supremacy continues with 12th win

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: ACI Sport

Having wrapped up the Italian Formula 4 title in race one, Andre Kimi Antonelli took a dominant 12th win of the season in race two at Mugello.

British F4 champion Alex Dunne got the jump on Rafael Camara for second after a safety car restart brought the field together, extending his advantage over the Brazilian in the fight for the championship runner-up spot.

Antonelli made another perfect launch to hold the lead into San Donato at the start as his fellow front-row starter Camara held off the battling US Racing pair of Kacper Sztuka and Dunne.

Behind them, Prema duo Charlie Wurz and Ugo Ugochukwu immediately resumed their wheel-to-wheel dice from race one.

Dunne found a way past Sztuka on lap three to take up the chase of Camara in second, closing to 0.4 seconds before the safety car was deployed to recovered the beached R-ace GP car of Giovanni Maschio who had come together with Monlau Motorsport’s Niels Koolen.

Antonelli mastered the restart, backing up the field before making his move through Biondetti. However, this allowed his pursuers to get a run at him down the pit straight, Camara pulling alongside but unable to make the move around the outside of San Donato.

As Antonelli asserted himself in front, Dunne and Sztuka were able to close onto the tail of Camara. The Pole tried to make a move into the first corner but his team-mate held him off.

The safety car was soon back on track, as Koolen was involved in another incident, crashing into the tyre barrier as he tried to avoid a spinning Taylor Barnard.

Racing resumed with five minutes on the clock. Antonelli kept the same strategy for timing his launch, giving everyone a full speed run down into turn one. With Antonelli clear, Dunne swerved to the inside to make a move on Camara, taking the place and immediately pulling 0.8s clear.

Dunne, however, could do nothing about Antonelli and the Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior finished 3.3s ahead as Dunne backed off on the final lap.

Sztuka took fourth ahead of Ugochukwu, Wurz and James Wharton. Martinius Stenshorne, Maya Weug and Emmo Fittipaldi Jr rounded out the top 10.

Red Bull junior Arvid Lindblad once again stalled at the start, having qualified as the fastest Van Amersfoort Racing driver in seventh, before losing his front wing as he made contact with Andrea Frassineti at turn five, forcing him back to the pits to retire.

Race result (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 33m12.037s
2 Alex Dunne US Racing +3.284s
3 Rafael Camara Prema +3.717s
4 Kacper Sztuka US Racing +4.535s
5 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +6.847s
6 Charlie Wurz Prema +7.176s
7 James Wharton Prema +8.238s
8 Martinius Stenshorne VAR +9.009s
9 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +10.191s
10 Emmo Fittipaldi VAR +10.903s
11 Conrad Laursen Prema +11.956s
12 Nikhil Bohra US Racing +12.376s
13 Niko Lacorte Iron Lynx +14.648s
14 Brando Badoer VAR +15.130s
15 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +15.720s
16 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +18.469s
17 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx +18.713s
18 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport +19.240s
19 Alfio Spina BVM Racing +19.274s
20 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport +20.155s
21 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +20.217s
22 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport +21.102s
23 Jules Castro VAR +22.045s
24 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Monlau Motorsport +22.069s
25 Frederik Lund R-ace GP +22.916s
26 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing +24.091s
27 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport +24.232s
28 Pedro Perino US Racing +24.596s
29 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing +25.030s
30 William Karlsson BVM Racing +27.516s
31 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +27.646s
32 Nadhavud Bhirombhakdi Jenzer Motorsport +28.501s
33 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport +30.791s
34 Ruiqu Liu AKM Motorsport +1 lap
35 Andre Frassineti Cars Racing +2 laps
36 Marcus Amand US Racing +4 laps
Ret Niels Koolen Monlau Motorsport
Ret Giovanni Maschio R-ace GP
Ret Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Arvid Lindblad VAR
Ret Akshay Bohra US Racing
Fastest lap: Antonelli, 1m49.487s

Championship standings
1 Antonelli 337   2 Dunne 259   3 Camara 239   4 Wurz 185   5 Sztuka 162   6 Wharton 156   7 Stenshorne 110   8 Barnard 95   9 Amand 94   10 Laursen 81