Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Alexander Albon claims first pole of the season at Nurburgring

Alexander Albon claims first pole of the season at Nurburgring

by Ant Musker
Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Photo: Florent Gooden / DPPI / Renault Sport Media

Thai racer Alexander Albon secured his first pole position of Formula Renault 2.0 the season by topping the group B qualifying session at the Nurburgring.

The KTR man sat at the top of the timesheets with two minutes remaining on the clock when the foggy conditions prompted a red flag and led to a premature end to the session.

Albon will be joined on the front row by championship leader Nyck de Vries, who comfortably topped the first group under significantly slower track conditions.

De Vries’ Koiranen GP teammate Nick Cassidy will start from P3 as the Kiwi looks to secure his first podium of the season. Andrea Pizzitola of Manor MP will start alongside him, having vaulted to second in Group A with a last-second lap.

The third row will be made up of Fortec rookie Jack Aitken and ART?s Levin Amweg, with consistent point-scorer Egor Orudzhev lining up seventh on the grid. Matt Parry will start from eighth ahead of Ignazio D?Agosto and another Fortec rookie in Charles Leclerc.

Combined qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Alexander Albon KTR 1:55.808
2 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP 1:58.061
3 Nick Cassidy Koiranen GP 1:56.249
4 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport 1:58.434
5 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:56.352
6 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 1:58.503
7 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 1:56.455
8 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing 1:58.768
9 Ignazio D’Agosto Koiranen GP 1:56.516
10 Charles Leclerc Fortec Motorsports 1:58.844
11 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team 1:56.605
12 Dennis Olsen Prema Powerteam 1:58.950
13 Kevin Jorg Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:56.611
14 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 1:59.038
15 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing 1:56.737
16 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 1:59.065
17 Vasily Romanov Tech 1 Racing 1:56.789
18 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:59.114
19 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:57.009
20 Martin Rump Fortec Motorsports 1:59.556
21 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport 1:57.117
22 Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 1:59.568
23 Victor Franzoni China BRT by JCS 1:57.164
24 Hans Villemi Prema Powerteam 1:59.831
25 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:57.522
26 Josef Zaruba China BRT by JCS 2:00.071
27 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport 1:57.589
28 Gregor Ramsay KTR 2:00.094
29 Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 1:57.884
30 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport 2:00.828
31 James Allen KTR 2:01.187