Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Zendeli fastest in TRS practice two at Highlands Motorsport Park

Zendeli fastest in TRS practice two at Highlands Motorsport Park

by Ida Wood

Photo: John Cowpland / Toyota Gazoo Racing NZ

Giles Motorsport’s Lirim Zendeli was fastest in an interrupted second Toyota Racing Series free practice session at Highlands Motorsport Park.

Several red flag periods riddled the second half of the session, meaning the quickest laps were set early on.

Reigning champion Liam Lawson initially set the pace by some margin for M2 Competition, with second place being hotly disputed.

Caio Collet, who was fastest in FP1 for MTEC Motorsport by R-ace GP, took until his third flying lap to beat Lawson’s lap by over four tenths of a second, with Zendeli moving into third behind them at the 10-minute mark of the half-hour session.

An improvement shortly after from Lawson took him to within 0.019s of Collet, who responded with an even better lap.

Lawson’s next flying lap put him in first place, but just a minute later he was demoted to third by Zendeli and Collet, with the trio being split by just 0.037s.

After this flurry of improvements, there were no changes in the top 10 for the remaining 17 minutes – several of which included no on-track running due to the red flags – bar push from Kiwi Motorsport’s Amaury Cordeel for seventh.

Collet’s team-mates Oliver Rasmussen and Petr Ptacek were a surprise fourth in the end order, with Ptacek setting an identical best lap to M2’s Igot Fraga.

Honda and Red Bull junior Yuki Tsunoda has a quiet session and was classified 11th, and the last driver within a second of Zendeli.


Free practice results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Lirim Zendeli Giles Motorsport 1m29.406s
2 Caio Collet MTEC by R-ace GP +0.036s
3 Liam Lawson M2 Competition +0.037s
4 Oliver Rasmussen MTEC by R-ace GP +0.151s
5 Petr Ptacek MTEC by R-ace GP +0.280s
6 Igor Fraga M2 Competition +0.280s
7 Amaury Cordeel Kiwi Motorsport +0.405s
8 Jackson Walls MTEC by R-ace GP +0.456s
9 Franco Colapinto Kiwi Motorsport +0.560s
10 Gregoire Saucy Giles Motorsport +0.729s
11 Yuki Tsunoda M2 Competition +0.857s
12 Jose Blanco-Chock Kiwi Motorsport +1.106s
13 Emilien Denner M2 Competition +1.175s
14 Henning Enqvist Giles Motorsport +1.284s
15 Ido Cohen M2 Competition +1.475s
16 Spike Kohlbecker Kiwi Motorsport +1.763s
17 Lucas Petersson MTEC by R-ace GP +2.015s
18 Rui Andrade M2 Competition +2.039s
19 Axel Gnos Kiwi Motorsport +2.519s
20 Chelsea Herbert Giles Motorsport +5.873s