Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Walker clash closes up National FF1600 title fight ahead of final race

Walker clash closes up National FF1600 title fight ahead of final race

by Ida Wood

Photo: BRSCC

Thomas Mills claimed his first BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 win at Snetterton, but Kevin Mills Racing team-mate Alex Walker had his points lead slashed ahead of the title decider.

Walker started from pole, courtesy of his victory in Saturday’s race, ahead of Niall Murray, Jamie Sharp, Mills and title rivals Chris Middlehurst and Max Esterson.

There was drama before the race began, as PWR1’s Jeremy Fairbairn broke his front-right suspension with an off on the warm-up lap, then B-M Racing’s Sharp didn’t get off the line and there was a second formation lap.

By the time racing did start it was raining lightly, and Mills was able to take the lead after Walker slid onto the grass while Middlehurst cleared Murray for third and then passed Walker quickly too as he went wheel-to-wheel with Murray.

The opening lap ended with Mills almost three seconds in the clear, Lucas Romanek out of the race after an off and Ben Cochran flying through the wet grass too.

Murray briefly lost a spot to Esterson, but fought back and got down the inside of Walker at Murray. They then went side-by-side until Brundle, where contact was made as they crossed a puddle. There was a second hit at Nelson, with Murray running Walker off the road and Walker then going over Murray’s rear wheels as he tried to turn on the grass.

The pair fell to eighth and ninth, and while the guesting Murray was able to go back on the attack there was no such luck for Walker who later had to park up.

Mills finished the shortened five-lap race over five seconds clear of Middlehurst, and Esterson completed the podium.

KMR’s Megan Gilkes was a season-best fourth, and Low Dempsey Racing’s Colin Queen and Murray jumped past Don Hardman Racing’s Joey Foster at the finish for fifth and sixth. Andre Castro was similarly shuffled down to eighth.

Race results (5 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Thomas Mills Kevin Mills Racing 11m53.337s
2 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +5.641s
3 Max Esterson Low Dempsey Racing +9.576s
4 Megan Gilkes Kevin Mills Racing +12.132s
5 Colin Queen Low Dempsey Racing +13.681s
6 Niall Murray Team Dolan +13.817s
7 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +14.008s
8 Andre Castro Low Dempsey Racing +17.884s
9 Carter Williams Oldfield Motorsport +20.534s
10 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +25.594s
11 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +44.042s
Ret Alex Walker Kevin Mills Racing
Ret Andre Lafond Low Dempsey Racing
Ret Adam Quartermaine PWR1 Racing
Ret Jamie Sharp B-M Racing
Ret Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport
DNS Jeremy Fairbairn PWR1 Racing
Fastest lap: Mills, 2m15.232s

Championship standings (with dropped scores)
1 Walker 441   2 Esterson 421   3 Middlehurst 416   4 Sharp 333   5 Mills 316   6 Rory Smith 264   7 Romanek 242   8 Gilkes 200   9 Queen 196   10 Williams 189