Home Formula 3GB3 Voisin edges Dunne to quickest time in GB3 practice at Brands Hatch

Voisin edges Dunne to quickest time in GB3 practice at Brands Hatch

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

GB3 points leader Callum Voisin topped Saturday morning’s practice session on Brands Hatch’s Grand Prix layout.

The Rodin Carlin driver set a time of 1m19.124s halfway through the 20-minute session and was fastest by 0.079 seconds over chief rival Alex Dunne.

Zak Taylor set an early benchmark of 1m23.917s for Chris Dittmann Racing, with Douglas Motorsport’s Lucas Staico soon going fractionally quicker.

Fortec Motorsports’ Max Esterson lowered the benchmark by 0.6s before Dunne lapped almost two seconds faster for Hitech GP with a 1m20.373s.

Voisin beat Dunne’s effort by almost 0.5s, and JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees briefly held top spot with a 1m19.659s before it was deleted for exceeding track limits.

Rees’ team-mate Joseph Loake took over in first place with a 1m19.615s as Tymek Kucharczyk, another to have a lap time deleted, movws into second.

McKenzy Cresswell, who set Friday’s testing pace on the shorter Indy layout, then edged Loake to first place by 0.078s, before Voisin recorded his practice-topping time.

Kucharczyk reduced Voisin’s advantage to 0.278s before being demoted to fourth by Dunne and Cresswell.

Dunne had his improved laptime deleted, relegating him back to fifth, but he made his final lap of the session count to grab second as the chequered flag waved.

Loake also improved on his final effort to end the session fourth behind Cresswell, with Kucharczyk fifth ahead Rees, another to go quicker at the end of the session.

JHR’s David Morales had a trip through the Paddock Hill Bend gravel trap but was able to rejoin and subsequently went seventh fastest.

Oliver Stewart improved on his final lap to take eighth ahead of Jarrod Waberski and Costa Toparis.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m19.124s 14
2 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m19.203s +0.079s 13
3 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport 1m19.336s +0.212s 13
4 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m19.375s +0.251s 14
5 Tymek Kurcharczyk Douglas Motorsport 1m19.402s +0.278s 13
6 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m19.703s +0.579s 11
7 David Morales JHR Developments 1m19.821s +0.697s 14
8 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport 1m19.966s +0.842s 13
9 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports 1m20.047s +0.923s 11
10 Costa Toparis Carlin 1m20.101s +0.977s 14
11 Souta Arao Hitech GP 1m20.132s +1.008s 13
12 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports 1m20.137s +1.013s 12
13 Michael Shin Hitech GP 1m20.141s +1.017s 13
14 Noah Ping Arden VRD 1m20.184s +1.060s 12
15 James Hedley Arden VRD 1m20.270s +1.146s 13
16 John Bennett Carlin 1m20.277s +1.153s 14
17 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD 1m20.310s +1.186s 13
18 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing 1m20.345s +1.221s 13
19 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed 1m20.477s +1.353s 15
20 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 1m20.510s +1.386s 15
21 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport 1m20.537s +1.413s 12
22 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports 1m20.699s +1.575s 13
23 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport 1m20.756s +1.632s 12
24 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing 1m20.922s +1.798s 15