Home Formula 2 Vips sets the pace in Formula 2 Paul Ricard practice

Vips sets the pace in Formula 2 Paul Ricard practice

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Juri Vips topped the times in practice ahead of the Formula 2 round at Paul Ricard.

The Hitech GP driver jumped to the top of the order late in the session, knocking Ayumu Iwasa off the top spot.

Virtual safety cars disrupted running twice at the French circuit, as two drivers came to a stop on track at the start and end of the session.

The first was Frederik Vesti, who ran into trouble as drivers were just starting their first flying laps. Vesti was late to head onto the circuit as the ART Grand Prix team worked on his car. When he did get out on track, he came to a stop just off track, delaying the start of the flying laps.

At the tail end of the session, Dennis Hauger caused a stoppage when he came to a stop on the start finish straight, bringing out the VSC in the final three minutes of the session. The track went green a minute later but there were few improvements, and nobody could beat the time already set by Vips.

Between the two stoppages, the field was busy learning a circuit that has not hosted Formula 2 since 2019.

Liam Lawson, Felipe Drugovich and Jack Doohan all took turns at the top of the order in the first half of the session.

Iwasa then jumped to the top of the times with a 1m46.755s lap. Theo Pourchaire would better the time, before Iwasa and then Vips jumped to the top of the order.

Vips ended the session with a time of 1m46.501s, 0.166s ahead of Iwasa. Pourchaire finished third ahead of Drugovich and Jehan Darvala, with Richard Verschoor sixth ahead of Marcus Armstrong and Doohan.

Second in the championship, Logan Sargeant ran into trouble early on with a spin over the abrasive strips at the side of the track. He was able to continue, but couldn’t match the pace of his title rivals and finished ninth fastest, ahead of Enzo Fittipaldi and Hauger.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m46.501s 21
2 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m46.667s +0.166s 18
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m46.723s +0.222s 19
4 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m46.849s +0.348s 20
5 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m46.899s +0.398s 18
6 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m46.917s +0.416s 19
7 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m46.957s +0.456s 21
8 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m46.994s +0.493s 18
9 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m47.091s +0.590s 21
10 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m47.162s +0.661s 21
11 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m47.268s +0.767s 16
12 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m47.410s +0.909s 20
13 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m47.545s +1.044s 21
14 Calan Williams Trident 1m47.569s +1.068s 19
15 David Beckmann Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.599s +1.098s 18
16 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.607s +1.106s 18
17 Roberto Merhi Campos Racing 1m47.644s +1.143s 22
18 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m47.735s +1.234s 17
19 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m48.120s +1.619s 19
20 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m48.141s +1.640s 20
21 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m48.860s +2.359s 22
22 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1