Home Featured Vidales wins debut single-seater race in Formula Renault Eurocup at Imola

Vidales wins debut single-seater race in Formula Renault Eurocup at Imola

by Peter Allen

Photo: Francois Flamand / DPPI

David Vidales took a hugely impressive lights-to-flag win in his debut car race in the Formula Renault Eurocup at Imola.

The 18-year-old Spaniard, who joined JD Motorsport for the second round of the Eurocup having been set to race in the rival Formula Regional European Championship this year, made a great launch from pole position to stay ahead of Renault junior Caio Collet.

Vidales quickly built an advantage of around two seconds over Collet, who instead came under pressure from the other JD car of William Alatalo.

In the second half of the race, Vidales was adding to that lead when Petr Ptacek found the gravel trap at Tamburello from the back end of the top 10 and triggered a safety car.

Vidales made a good gap on Collet when the race restarted with two minutes left on the clock, and was comfortably clear when the safety car came back out one lap later and effectively confirmed his victory.

Collet finished second to take a solo lead in the championship, with Alatalo completing a one-three result for the JD Motorsport team on home soil.

Having lost third place to Alatalo off the start, ART Grand Prix driver Victor Martins closed back up to the two cars ahead prior to the safety cars but had to settle for fourth. Alex Quinn continued his strong showing as a stand-in for Arden with fifth place.

Mercedes junior Paul Aron had been due to put his tough Eurocup debut at Monza behind him with a positive run to sixth, but he too landed in the Tamburello gravel – causing the second safety car – as he tried to keep Franco Colapinto at bay.

Colapinto inherited sixth for MP Motorsport ahead of Bhaitech’s Lorenzo Colombo. Ugo de Wilde ended up eighth and was put under investigation following a first-lap incident that sent the third ART driver Gregoire Saucy through the gravel trap on the exit of Villeneuve. Hadrien David and Mikhail Belov rounded out the top 10.

Johnathan Hoggard experienced a tough Formula Renault debut with R-ace GP and visited the pits before the finish.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Davi Vidales JD Motorsport 18 laps
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.534s
3 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +1.023s
4 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +1.338s
5 Alex Quinn Arden +1.416s
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +1.685s
7 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +2.765s
8 Ugo de Wilde Aren +3.208s
9 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +3.772s
10 Mikhael Belov M2 Competition +4.229s
11 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor +7.508s
12 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor +7.735s
13 Joey Alder MP Motorsport +8.242s
14 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +8.536s
15 Reshad de Gerus Arden +8.905s
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +9.223s
17 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +10.498s
Ret Paul Aron ART Grand Prix
Ret Johnathan Hoggard R-ace GP
Ret Petr Ptacek R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Vidales, 1m41.296s

Championship standings
1 Collet 58   2 Colapinto 48   3 Martins 31   4 Quinn 28   5 Vidales 25   6 Alatalo 25   7 Belov 23   8 David 16   9 van der Helm 14   10 de Wilde 12