Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins back in the Eurocup lead with Magny-Cours win

Victor Martins back in the Eurocup lead with Magny-Cours win

by Tim Lumb

Photo Marc: de Mattia / DPPI

Victor Martins won from pole position in race two of the Formula Renault Eurocup weekend at Magny-Cours, making up for his third place finish yesterday.

The ART Grand Prix driver lost the lead of the championship to R-ace GP rival Caio Collet in race one when the Brazilian one, but Martins responded in race two by staying in total control through a disrupted race in which Collet trailed him throughout.

The race ran behind the safety car for the first lap due to cement dust on the main straight, and the safety car came out on two more occasions during the 30-minute race, but Martins didn’t give Collet a chance to go for the race lead.

Collet did keep within one second of his title rival during each green flag period as the pair created a gap to the rest of the field behind.

David Vidales completed the podium in third place, holding off Bhaitech’s Lorenzo Colombo and Arden’s Alex Quinn. No positions were gained or lost in the top five from the grid order at the beginning of the race.

Martins’ ART team-mate Gregoire Saucy put in a good move over Arden’s Ugo de Wilde five minutes into the race to take over sixth place.

Eighth to 10th changed considerably during the final two minutes of the race.  On the penultimate lap Franco Colapinto was late on the brakes when attempting a move on Hadrien David for eighth place, and ended up breaking his own suspension after an earlier move on R-ace GP’s Petr Ptacek had broken Ptacek’s.

Paul Aron also lost positions having to avoid the crash, although a messy race had already put him down the order, and as a result the last points finishers were William Alatalo (JD Motorsport), Amaury Cordeel (FA Racing by Manor) and Vicky Piria (Bhaitech).


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 18 laps
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.690s
3 David Vidales JD Motorsport +3.097s
4 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +3.652s
5 Alex Quinn Arden +4.226s
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +5.112s
7 Ugo de Wilde Arden +5.808s
8 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +9.112s
9 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor +9.832s
10 Vicky Piria Bhaitech +14.076s
11 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +14.468s
12 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix +14.745s
13 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +18.076s
Ret Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport
Ret Reshad de Gerus Arden
Ret Petr Ptacek R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m34.197s

Championship standings
Martins 133   2 Collet 131   Vidales 102   4 Colapinto 68   5 Quinn 65   6 Alatalo 61   7 Colombo 54   8 Saucy 51   9 Aron 27   10 de Wilde 24