Home Featured Vesti beats Hauger to victory to become closest rival in FIA F3 title race

Vesti beats Hauger to victory to become closest rival in FIA F3 title race

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Frederik Vesti beats points leader Dennis Hauger to the victory in the final FIA Formula 3 Championship race of the weekend at the Red Bull Ring.

Vesti spent the opening laps battling Hauger and Alexander Smolyar, with Hauger having started from pole and led the field away early on. Once DRS was enabled, Vesti was able to get by Hauger for the lead.

Smolyar tried to follow Vesti through and was able to make the move stick shortly afterwards. The two ART Grand Prix drivers then battled at the front of the order, with Smolyar briefly taking the lead before Vesti managed to get back through.

Further back, Arthur Leclerc was battling with Victor Martins for fifth. Leclerc had enjoyed an impressive run up through the order after starting ninth, joining Prema team-mate Olli Caldwell in the battle against Hitech GP’s Jak Crawford.

Leclerc and Caldwell were separated when Caldwell managed to pass Clement Novalak and Leclerc couldn’t get follow him through. He stuck onto the back of the Trident driver until he was forced to defend his position from Martins.

Martins got by, and when Leclerc tried to reclaim the place on the run to turn five he took to the grass and went spinning across the track into Novalak at the corner. Martins was also damaged but continued to the pits, while Leclerc and Novalak’s races ended in the gravel and the safety car was brought out.

On the restart, Hauger stuck with Vesti while Smolyar was down to third and forced to defend from Caldwell.

Vesti managed to hold off Hauger, with a late virtual safety car helping his defence, for his first win of 2021.

Caldwell claimed third from Smolyar and briefly ran side-by-side with Hauger in the final laps.

Smolyar finished fourth, head Mattio Nannini and Ayuma Iwasa.

Jack Doohan and Crawford battling for fifth late in the race when Crawford ran into the back of Doohan. Both drivers then had to pit, allowing Caio Collet to move up to seventh. Collet had started fourth but stalled and fell to last before charging back up the order.

Race results (24 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 36hm17.937s
2 Dennis Hauger Prema +1.124s
3 Olli Caldwell Prema +1.741s
4 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +2.258s
5 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab +4.147s
6 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +5.163s
7 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +6.785s
8 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System +7.561s
9 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +8.320s
10 Jonny Edgar Carlin +9.049s
11 Oliver Rasmussen MP Motorsport +9.288s
12 David Schumacher Trident +9.605s
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System +10.328s
14 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +10.782s
15 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing +11.319s
16 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +11.645s
17 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport +13.049s
18 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport +14.677s
19 Ido Cohen Carlin +15.583s
20 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System +16.202s
21 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing +16.358s
22 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +17.200s
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab +17.850s
24 Lazslo Toth Campos Racing +19.104s
25 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +43.050s
26 Jak Crawford Hitech GP +1m15.956s
27 Jack Doohan Trident +1 lap
Ret Clement Novalak Trident
Ret Arthur Leclerc Prema
DNE Kaylen Frederick Carlin
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m21.737s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 115   2 Vesti 74   3 Doohan 72   4 Caldwell 70   5 Martins 66   6 Smolyar 52   7 Novalak 49   8 Collet 41   9 Nannini 26   10 Edgar 23