Home News Michael d’Orlando back on top in third USF2000 race at Mid-Ohio

Michael d’Orlando back on top in third USF2000 race at Mid-Ohio

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

Michael d’Orlando took victory in the third USF2000 race at Mid-Ohio after a close battle with championship leader Kiko Porto following the first caution restart.

It wasn’t long from the start that the first incident of the race took place. Dylan Christie connected Myles Rowe after losing control of his car going into turn two, and the full course yellow was out.

Once the race was restarted d’Orlando gave it his all to pass Porto and he actually made it after going side-by-side for half a lap.

Just like in race two, Legacy Autosport’s Simon Sikes kept it clean to take yet another podium. Already third after the start, he pulled a brave move on DEForce Racing’s Porto once the race went green again after the second FCY.

Exclusive Autorsport’s Matt Round-Garrido came third, building on his fourth place from race two. He moved up to fourth from 10th in the early stages of Sunday’s race, and gained another place when the race resumed for the third time.

It wasn’t all comfortable and calm though from there. In the last couple of laps, he had to defend hard to claim his podium.

Pabst Racing’s Yuven Sundaramoorthy bounced back from tough Friday and Saturday, taking fourth after some bold moves that allowed him to make up nine places through the race.

Porto struggled a lot on Sunday morning at Mid-Ohio. He started from pole, but every FCY restart cost him a place, and he came home in fifth. Due to that, his championship lead has been reduced to 19 points.

Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks, currently fifth in the points, was another to have a strong race and rose from 16th to finish sixth. The top 10 was completed by Jace Denmark, Peter Vodanovich, who both ran further up before the restarts, Thomas Nepveu, and Spike Kohlbecker.

Race results (20 laps)

Pos Name Team Time
1 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 36m24.8762s
2 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport +1.0725s
3 Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport +3.3809s
4 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +4.2828s
5 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +4.8656s
6 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +5.7744s
7 Jace Denmark-Gessel Pabst Racing +6.3091s
8 Peter Vodanovich JHDD +7.8725s
9 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports +8.5618s
10 Spike Kohlbecker Cape w/ Ignite Autosport +8.8058s
11 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing +9.2281s
12 Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing +11.7440s
13 Jackson Lee JHDD +11.9926s
14 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development +12.9411s
15 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +13.2913s
16 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +14.9237s
17 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing +15.2451s
18 Bijoy Garg JHDD +15.7189s
19 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing +15.9986s
20 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport +17.7607s
21 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport +19.6319s
22 Nathan Byrd Legacy Autosport +26.0992s
23 Chase Hyland JHDD +27.9478s
24 Evan Stamer Cape w/ Ignite Autosport +1 lap
25 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports +2 laps
26 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport +4 laps
Ret Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing
Ret Myles Rowe Force Indy
Fastest lap: Sundaramoorthy, 1m22.5852s

Championship standings
1 Porto 297   2 d’Orlando 278   3 Sundaramoorthy 243   4 Pierson 224   5 Brooks 220   6 Kohlbecker 175   7 Nepveu 174   8 Green 166   9 Campbell 160   10 Denmark-Gessel 158