Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Verstappen quickest on day one of Formula Renault NEC test at Hockenheim

Verstappen quickest on day one of Formula Renault NEC test at Hockenheim

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Chris Schotanus

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Karting graduate Max Verstappen posted the fastest lap of the opening day of official pre-season Formula Renault NEC testing at Hockenheim.

Verstappen, who has already secured a deal to race in the FIA F3 championship with Van Amersfoort Racing, topped three of the six sessions, running with Manor MP.

The Dutch youngster set the overall benchmark in session two and would then go on to add the second-fastest lap of the day in the final run.

Polish racer Jakub Dalewski finished the day in P2, more than four tenths adrift of Verstappen. Dalewski, testing with Euronova, managed his best lap in session five, which he appropriately topped.

AVF’s 2014 signing Roy Geerts was an impressive third overall, leading Euronova’s Ukyo Sasahara and Caterham junior Seb Morris. Louis Deletraz, quickest in session four, would settle for sixth at the end of the day ahead of RSF’s Ben Barnicoat and BRDC F4 champion Jake Hughes.

Jorge Cevallos made it three Fortec drivers in the top ten with ninth, while Raoul Owens‘ timesheet-topping lap from the third session would only be good enough for tenth.

Combined testing results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Max Verstappen Manor MP Motorsport 1:37.514
2 Jakub Dalewski Euronova 1:37.982 +0.468
3 Roy Geerts AVF 1:38.074 +0.560
4 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova 1:38.107 +0.593
5 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsport 1:38.161 +0.647
6 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:38.270 +0.756
7 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsport 1:38.371 +0.857
8 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Racing 1:38.631 +1.117
9 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsport 1:38.680 +1.166
10 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing 1:38.699 +1.185
11 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport 1:38.761 +1.247
12 Josef Zaruba AVF 1:39.156 +1.642
13 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.277 +1.763
14 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport 1:39.287 +1.773
15 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsport 1:39.304 +1.790
16 Dennis Anoschin Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.440 +1.926
17 Leopold Ringbom PositiOne 1:39.988 +2.474
18 David Richert Inter Europol 1:42.689 +5.175