Home Featured VeeKay closes on Pro Mazda lead at Toronto, Scott uninjured in scary crash

VeeKay closes on Pro Mazda lead at Toronto, Scott uninjured in scary crash

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway / LLC Photography

Rinus VeeKay closed in on the Pro Mazda championship lead in the opening race at Toronto, although it was a crash involving Harrison Scott that got the most attention.

On the opening lap of the race RP Motorsport driver Scott got squeezed by Exclusive Autosport’s Antonio Serravalle on the run to Turn 3.

Scott was pitched airborne, and landed with broken suspension at the front and rear, meaning he had no control of the car as it entered the corner. The Englishman rode over the rear of Sting Ray Robb at corner entry, and was launched several metres into the air and a considerable horizontal distance as he barrelrolled down the escape road.

Emergency assistance was provided within seconds of the impact, thanks to one of the safety trucks being stationed at Turn 3, and Scott emerged remarkably uninjured.

Scott also made contact with Robb’s team-mate Andres Gutierrez during his collision, and Robb was then rear-ended by Robert Megennis at the apex of the corner. The four of them, plus Serravalle, all retired on the first lap.

VeeKay led the field away on both the initial start and the restart, but had to do it again when championship leader Parker Thompson (Exclusive Autosport) collided with David Malukas after the latter attempted a late lunge at Turn 1 in their BN Racing car.

Another caution period was required, and VeeKay’s Juncos Racing team-mate Carlos Cunha was promoted to second. The Brazilian had started down in 11th after crashing in qualifying.

Despite the numerous caution periods, VeeKay took an assertive victory, and also set a new lap record. Retirement for Thompson means just 20 points separates them at the top of the standings now.

Cunha finished second, while RP Motorsport had something to smile about after Raul Guzman bettered Cape Motorsports pair Oliver Askew and Nikita Lastochkin for third. Charles Finelli was the only other finisher.

VeeKay also took pole for the second race, with Malukas alongside him on the front row. Scott is set to start fourth, pending his team rebuilds his car in time.


Race results (25 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Rinus VeeKay Juncos Racing 38m56.1836s
2 Carlos Cunha Juncos Racing +3.5546s
3 Raul Guzman RP Motorsport +4.5935s
4 Oliver Askew Cape Motorsports +7.6150s
5 Nikita Lastochkin Cape Motorsports +9.6729s
6 Charles Finelli Fatboy Racing +56.7050s
Ret Kris Wright BN Racing
Ret Parker Thompson Exclusive Autosport
Ret David Malukas BN Racing
Ret Andres Gutierrez Team Pelfrey
Ret Sting Ray Robb Team Pelfrey
Ret Robert Megennis Juncos Racing
Ret Harrison Scott RP Motorsport
Ret Antonio Serravalle Exclusive Autosport
Pole: VeeKay, 1m07.9735s? ? ??Fastest lap: VeeKay, 1m07.8409s

Championship Standings
1?Thompson 237? ?2?VeeKay 217? ?3?Cunha 202? ?4 Scott 174? ?5?Malukas 181? ?6 Askew 160? ?7?Robb 138? ?8 Megennis 130? ?9?Lastochkin 119? ?10 Gutierrez 115