Home Formula 4Italian F4 VAR’s Edgar fastest, DR Formula returns in Italian F4 Vallelunga practice

VAR’s Edgar fastest, DR Formula returns in Italian F4 Vallelunga practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jonny Edgar topped the fifth and sixth Italian Formula 4 free practice sessions at Vallelunga, as DR Formula returned to the series with karting graduate Pedro Perino.

The Portuguese youngster tested with DR Formula last week at the circuit, then firmed up an entry plan for this weekend’s season finale that began with Wednesdnay’s four practice sessions.

DR had been planning to return to Italian F4 next year with a two-car programme, having competed in the series from 2016 to 2019, but has brought forward its return with first-year senior karts driver Perino. He was 33rd and last in Friday practice.

Edgar was 0.104 seconds in front in the early morning session on Friday, spending the first half of it trading first place with team-mate Francesco Pizzi and Prema’s already crowned champion Gabriele Mini.

While Mini remained his closest rival by the end, Pizzi had dropped down the order to seventh behind Joshua Duerksen (Mucke Motorsport), Jak Crawford (VAR), Dino Beganovic (Prema) and Ollie Bearman (US Racing), who had set the pace in awful conditions on Wednesday.

Edgar trimmed half a second off his benchmark in the second session of the day, with team-mate and fellow Red Bull junior Crawford getting within 0.040s to go second fastest.

US Racing’s series debutant Tim Tramnitz was third, just 0.011s slower than Crawford, with Duerksen, Mini and Bearman completing the top six. This time Pizzi, who leads the seven-way fight for the title runner-up spot, fared even worse and ended up 12th fastest.

His Cram Motorsport rival Andrea Rosso also struggled for pace, ending the day in 27th place but only 1.131s off Edgar’s best lap.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.252s 44
2 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.292s +0.040s 43
3 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m33.303s +0.051s 35
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m33.366s +0.114s 44
5 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m33.428s +0.176s 39
6 Ollie Bearman US Racing 1m33.527s +0.275s 37
7 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m33.545s +0.293s 41
8 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.577s +0.325s 45
9 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m33.579s +0.327s 39
10 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport 1m33.590s +0.338s 42
11 Kirill Smal Prema 1m33.609s +0.357s 38
12 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.687s +0.435s 45
13 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.773s +0.521s 42
14 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m33.779s +0.527s 41
15 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.824s +0.572s 44
16 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace 1m33.858s +0.606s 44
17 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport 1m33.878s +0.626s 41
18 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.880s +0.628s 42
19 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m33.910s +0.658s 42
20 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech 1m34.046s +0.794s 42
21 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m34.133s +0.881s 42
22 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m34.191s +0.939s 41
23 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech 1m34.229s +0.977s 41
24 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m34.282s +1.030s 41
25 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.320s +1.068s 45
26 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m34.353s +1.101s 41
27 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m34.383s +1.131s 44
28 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.415s +1.163s 44
29 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx 1m34.636s +1.384s 43
30 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing 1m34.653s +1.401s 43
31 Pietro Armanni BVM Technorace 1m35.253s +2.001s 39
32 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport 1m35.353s +2.101s 43
33 Pedro Perino DR Formula 1m36.146s +2.894s 43