Home Featured Van’t Hoff scores 10th Spanish F4 win from sixth on the grid

Van’t Hoff scores 10th Spanish F4 win from sixth on the grid

by Peter Allen

Photo: Spanish F4

Spanish Formula 4 champion Dilano van’t Hoff came from sixth on the grid to add to his win tally in the first race of the Barcelona season finale.

First-time pole-sitter Daniel Macia’s car stalled at the start and was left stranded on the grid, but the rest of the 26-car field managed to avoid him.

With the other front-row starter Suleiman Zanfari slow away and falling to fifth, Pepe Marti instead surged into the lead from third on the grid. Van’t Hoff claimed second through the first corner ahead of his MP Motorsport team-mates Noah Degnbol and Rik Koen.

The safety car was deployed before the end of the first lap to retrieve the GRS car of Vladisav Ryabov, which had gone off into the Turn 5 gravel trap minus its rear wing.

Following the restart, Campos Racing driver Marti led by 0.4 seconds after one lap of racing, but was unable to pull away from van’t Hoff.

Eventually, with eight of the race’s 25 minutes remaining, Marti was forced to go defensive into Turn 1 and van’t Hoff drove around his outside to claim the lead.

Van’t Hoff couldn’t immediately escape however, and Marti was right on his tail as they went down the main straight with a couple of minutes left, but van’t Hoff ultimately pulled out a one-second gap as he clinched his 10th win of the campaign.

Having stayed with the lead pair for much of the race, Degnbol fell back by five seconds in the closing laps but managed to keep Koen at bay and return to the podium for the first time since round two at Navarra in May.

In his third weekend of car racing, Miron Pingasov scored his first points with a fine drive to fifth place, making it four MP cars in the top five. He overtook Sebastian Ogaard in Turn 3 four minutes from the end, Ogaard running very wide in the process.

Second in the championship, Ogaard had raced strongly himself after starting down in 13th place, moving quickly up to fifth place after the restart. In the end he was classified fifth after Pingasov was demoted to seventh by a five-second time penalty.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 14 laps
2 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +1.006s
3 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +6.481s
4 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +7.351s
5 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +9.031s
6 Noam Abramczyck Drivex School +12.145s
7 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +13.866s
8 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport +19.611s
9 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +20.131s
10 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport +22.422s
11 Alex Garcia Campos Racing +22.730s
12 Manuel Esperito Santo MP Motorsport +23.419s
13 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +24.626s
14 Lucas Malek GRS +24.893s
15 Georgi Dimitrov Drivex School +26.472s
16 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +26.965s
17 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsort +27.223s
18 Quique Bordas Formula de Campeones +27.537s
19 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School +28.783s
20 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +29.771s
21 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +30.991s
22 Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsort +43.873s
Ret Alex Partyshev Campos Racing
Ret Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School
Ret Daniel Macia Formula de Campeones
Ret Vladislav Ryabov GRS
Fastest lap: Koen, 1m47.844s

Championship standings
van’t Hoff 361   Ogaard 206   3 Marti 181   4 Bordas 152   5 Macia 130   6 Koen 110   7 Ryabov 85   8 Degnbol 79   9 Arkhangelskiy 66   10 Kelstrup 63