Home Featured Van’t Hoff fends off Marti for another Spa win at Spanish F4 opener

Van’t Hoff fends off Marti for another Spa win at Spanish F4 opener

by Peter Allen

Photo: F4 Spain

Dilano van’t Hoff took another victory in the second race of the Spanish Formula 4 season at Spa-Francorchamps, this time under pressure from Pepe Marti.

With the grid set by the results of Thursday’s second qualifying session, MP Motorsport driver van’t Hoff started from pole position and kept the lead at the start while Campos Racing driver Marti shot from fourth to second before the field reached La Source for the first time.

After the second and third laps were run under safety car, Marti pulled alongside van’t Hoff on the way up to Les Combes on the restart but couldn’t find a way past.

Van’t Hoff’s lead was briefly as much as one second in the middle of the race, but Marti had closed up again come the penultimate lap. In the end, van’t Hoff held on to win by 0.715 seconds.

Four seconds behind the lead pair, Jenzer Motorsport driver Santiago Ramos had a relatively quiet run to third place, although he only held the position at the end by 0.354s over Rik Koen.

After starting third, former Ford Fiesta racer Koen had slipped to seventh at one stage after the restart but set the fastest lap as he recovered ground late on.

Having run van’t Hoff close in race one, Dani Macia was on a charge in the early part of the race from 10th on the grid, clearing MP drivers Koen and Noah Degnbol in the first lap after the restart to gain fourth.

His fellow race one podium finisher Alex Dunne also looked to make up ground from seventh on the grid. He too cleared Koen after the restart and tried to pass Degnbol a lap later, only to dislodge his own front wing as he pulled out from behind, causing him to overshoot Les Combes before pitting.

Macia then faded considerably in the closing stages, enabling Koen to take fourth and Degnbol to take fifth – but only after late contact with Francesco Braschi at Les Combes that sent the Jenzer driver into the barriers and is under investigation.

Another MP driver Georg Kelstrup also beat Macia to finish sixth, recovering well from a first-lap coming together at Les Combes that ultimately took sole GRS entry Vladislav Ryabov out of the race and dropped himself down to 13th.

The safety car was required to retrieve the car of Suleiman Zanfari, who went straight on into the barriers at Pouhon after something appeared to have broken on his MP entry.

Race results (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 29m14.997s
2 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +0.715s
3 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +4.471s
4 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +4.825s
5 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +9.580s
6 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport +13.091s
7 Daniel Macia Praga F4 +13.531s
8 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +13.636s
9 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex +13.998s
10 Quique Bordas Praga F4 +14.229s
11 Manuel Espirito Santo MP Motorsport +14.506s
12 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport +18.593s
13 Santiago Trisini MP Motorsport +18.797s
14 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport +20.056s
15 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport +21.682s
16 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport +23.236s
17 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing +31.481s
18 Noam Abramczyk Drivex +33.549s
19 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +35.320s
20 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex +35.756s
21 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +45.136s
22 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex +45.378s
23 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
24 Alejandro Garcia Campos Racing +1 lap
25 Alex Dunne Pinnacle Motorsport +1 lap
26 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex +2 laps
Ret Vladislav Ryabov GRS
Ret Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Koen, 2m23.371s

Championship standings
1 van’t Hoff 52   2 Marti 28   3 Macia 25   4 Ramos 23   5 Dunne 17   6 Kelstrup 14    7 Bordas 13   8 Koen 13   9 Degnbol 10   10 Ogaard 6