Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Ushijima quickest by one second in Spa F3 practice

Ushijima quickest by one second in Spa F3 practice

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Reece Ushijima set the pace in Formula 3 practice at Spa-Francorchamps, going more than a second quicker than anybody else.

The Van Amersfoort driver was consistently at the sharp end of the field throughout the 45 minute practice, but it wasn’t until the final four minutes of the session that he hit the top of the times.

Ollie Bearman had come into the final five minutes of practice top of the order, having topped the times before the mid-session lull. Isack Hadjar was the first to depose him, setting a time of 2m06.634s. Oliver Goethe then went almost half a second quicker, but Ushijima put in his fastest lap of the session.

His 1m05.177s lap around the modified Spa Francorchamps circuit put him 1.011s ahead of Goethe, who wouldn’t be able to improve on his fastest lap in the closing stages of the session and settled for second.

Late improvements from Goethe’s Campos Racing team-mates David Vidales and Pepe Marti put them third and fourth ahead of Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan, who topped the order multiple times during practice.

The only disruption to the session came shortly after the second half of practice began. After a trip to the pits for most of the field, the cars were just returning to track when Roman Stanek came to a stop on the Kemmel Straight. Stanek did manage to get going again and returned to the pits, before a five minute run at the end of the session.

He briefly jumped up to fourth, before improvements elsewhere bumped the Trident driver down to sixth.

Hadjar took the chequered flag seventh, ahead of Zane Maloney, Jonny Edgar and Oliver Bearman.

Despite topping the order early on, Victor Martins couldn’t keep up with the rate of improvement elsewhere on track and finished more than two seconds off the pace in P20.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 2m05.172s 16
2 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 2m06.188s +1.016s 16
3 David Vidales Campos Racing 2m06.195s +1.023s 15
4 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 2m06.295s +1.123s 13
5 Zak OmSullivan Carlin 2m06.303s +1.131s 15
6 Roman Stanek Trident 2m06.545s +1.373s 14
7 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 2m06.549s +1.377s 13
8 Zane Maloney Trident 2m06.653s +1.481s 14
9 Jonny Edgar Trident 2m06.774s +1.602s 14
10 Ollie Bearman Prema Racing 2m06.798s +1.626s 14
11 Arthur Leclerc Prema Racing 2m06.873s +1.701s 14
12 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 2m06.940s +1.768s 13
13 Nazim Azman Hitech Grand Prix 2m06.945s +1.773s 17
14 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 2m06.962s +1.790s 14
15 Jak Crawford Prema Racing 2m06.987s +1.815s 14
16 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 2m07.063s +1.891s 14
17 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 2m07.178s +2.006s 14
18 Christian Mansell Charouz Racing System 2m07.215s +2.043s 16
19 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 2m07.241s +2.069s 14
20 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 2m07.244s +2.072s 12
21 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 2m07.328s +2.156s 14
22 Enzo Trulli Carlin 2m07.370s +2.198s 15
23 Brad Benavides Carlin 2m07.391s +2.219s 14
24 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 2m07.403s +2.231s 13
25 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 2m07.467s +2.295s 15
26 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 2m07.558s +2.386s 11
27 Kaylen Frederick Hitech Grand Prix 2m07.782s +2.610s 14
28 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 2m08.080s +2.908s 13
29 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 2m08.302s +3.130s 14
30 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 2m08.761s +3.589s 15