Home Formula 3Euroformula Twynham tops testing on opening day of Winter Series at Paul Ricard

Twynham tops testing on opening day of Winter Series at Paul Ricard

by Gruz David


Team West-Tec’s Cameron Twynham kicked off the first race weekend of Euroformula Open Winter Series by setting the fastest lap on the opening day of testing, which featured four standalone practice sessions.

Twynham, who is confirmed for a full-time seat in the regular championship, was closely followed by Japanese rookie Yu Kanamaru, with only the pair of them managing laps quicker than 2:03s. Artur Janosz started his campaign with RP Motorsport with a promising third place, while 2012 Copa class champion Kevin Giovesi and Che One Lim completed the overall top five.

In the first session of the day it was Tatiana Calderon who set the best time. The Venezuelan, who was unveiled for the Winter Series by EmiliodeVillota Motorsport at the last minute, beat 16-year-old youngster Christopher Hoher by less than three tenths. Tanart Sathienthirakul and Yarin Stern followed the Austrian in the leaderboards with Kanamaru rounding out the top five.

The second practice proved to be quickest with everyone who occupied the overall top five of the day setting their personal best laps during the one-hour session in question.

There would be no changes to the combined timesheets after the lunch break as rain would hit the track, affecting all of afternoon running. Th conditions proved rather beneficiary to noted rain specialist Twynham, who convincingly beat everyone but Giovesi and Hoher by more than one second. EmiliodeVillota’s Kanamaru and DAV Racing’s Hector Hurst completed the top five.

The track was drier for the final run of the day, but the drivers’ best laps did not come close to their morning efforts. Giovesi ended the day on top with Campos duo of Sean Walkinshaw and karting graduate?Alex Palou in second and third respectively. Kanamaru and Hurst again found themselves in fourth and fifth.

The action will resume tomorrow with two more practice sessions, a qualifying and the first race of the Winter Series which will then go on a two-week-long break.

Session results
Pos. Driver Team Cl. Session 1 Session 2 Session 3 Session 4
1 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec 2:04.168 2:02.720 2:17.434 2:15.071
2 Yu Kanamaru EmiliodeVillota Motorsport 2:04.104 2:02.886 2:18.440 2:13.426
3 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport 2:04.189 2:03.136 2:20.173 2:23.668
4 Kevin Giovesi DAV Racing No Time 2:03.407 2:17.636 2:12.701
5 Che One Lim EmiliodeVillota Motorsport 2:06.952 2:03.437 2:19.223 2:20.652
6 Tatiana Calderon EmiliodeVillota Motorsport 2:03.543 2:03.450 2:19.134 2:14.741
7 Christopher Hoher Team West-Tec 2:03.801 2:04.235 2:18.105 2:14.415
8 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec 2:04.013 No Time No Time No Time
9 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec 2:04.051 No Time 2:24.538 2:15.534
10 Hector Hurst DAV Racing 2:04.425 2:04.080 2:19.008 2:13.427
11 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport 2:05.676 2:04.528 2:21.114 2:19.909
12 Alex Palou Campos Racing 2:06.270 2:04.681 2:21.016 2:13.408
13 Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec 2:35.270 2:05.196 2:19.776 2:15.269
14 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport 2:06.345 2:05.474 2:21.615 2:15.166
15 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec C 2:06.443 2:05.643 2:20.815 2:14.972
16 Chang Wing Chung Team West-Tec C 2:09.292 2:06.263 2:24.773 2:22.207
17 Constantino Peroni RP Motorsport C 2:30.894 2:07.241 2:28.303 2:16.830
18 Henrique Baptista DAV Racing 2:07.939 2:08.340 2:23.519 2:14.748
19 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport C 2:14.083 2:09.969 2:26.001 2:19.286
20 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing No Time No Time 2:21.812 2:13.203

Personal best time in bold
Best time of session in italics