Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Tunjo secures pole on NEC return

Tunjo secures pole on NEC return

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Oscar Tunjo UPLOAD

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Lotus junior Oscar Tunjo secured pole position for the second round of the 2013 Formula Renault 2.0 NEC, topping the qualifying timesheets on his return to the category where he had a part-time campaign in 2011.

Despite his allocation to Group A, Tunjo:s best time was good enough to beat Group B:s leader, Gustav Malja, who ensured his maiden front row start in Formula Renault.

In the faster Group A, Matt Parry took second ahead of current champion Jake Dennis. Aurelien Panis was fourth ahead of Nicolas Jamin, while Ed Jones narrowly bested Shahaan Engineer. Ryan Tveter, Louis Deletraz and Kuba Dalewski rounded out the top ten.

Roman Mavlanov was second to Malja in Group B, ahead of Esteban Ocon, Mikko Pakari and French F4 champion Alex Baron. Dennis Olsen and Victor Sendin followed, with Raoul Owens, Andrea Pizzitola and Jack Aitken closing out the top ten.

Parry will be on pole for race two.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:56.872
2 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:56.932
3 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports 1:56.969
4 Roman Mavlanov RC Formula 1:57.504
5 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports 1:57.163
6 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team 1:57.525
7 Aurelien Panis RC Formula 1:57.390
8 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports 1:57.544
9 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team 1:57.678
10 Alex Baron ART Junior Team 1:57.672
11 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports 1:57.684
12 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:57.763
13 Shahaan Engineer Fortec Motorsports 1:57.688
14 Victor Sendin AV Formula 1:57.794
15 Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition 1:57.819
16 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing 1:57.794
17 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:58.385
18 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team 1:57.891
19 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport 1:58.523
20 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports 1:58.053
21 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team 1:58.594
22 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition 1:58.371
23 Fran Rueda AV Formula 1:58.708
24 Erik Johansson KEO Racing 1:59.220
25 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula 1:58.944
26 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition 1:59.360
27 Julio Moreno JTR Racing 1:59.002
28 Jakub Smiechowski Euro Interpol 1:59.586
29 Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing 1:59.594
30 Juan Branger JD Motorsport 1:59.599
31 Miika Laiho PositiOne Motorsport 2:00.033
32 Patric Armand Fortec Motorsports 1:59.617
33 Simon Stoller SL Formula 2:01.294
34 Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition 2:00.107
35 Christian Malcharek Krenek Motorsport 2:01.368