Home News Tsolov stays ahead to win Spanish F4 race two at Jerez

Tsolov stays ahead to win Spanish F4 race two at Jerez

by Peter Allen

Photo: Spanish F4

Nikola Tsolov scored his second Spanish Formula 4 victory in race two at Jerez, pulling clear of rival Tymoteusz Kucharczyk following a safety car.

Unlike in race one, polesitter Tsolov managed to stay ahead of Kucharczyk at the start, but just as in race one the safety car made an early appearance to clean up a first-lap incident involving Ricardo Gracia.

Around half of the 18-minute duration remained at the restart and Campos Racing driver Tsolov checked out in the lead, the Alpine Academy affiliate and Fernando Alonso protege finishing four seconds clear of Kucharczyk.

Having had his maiden podium finish in race one taken away by a track-limits penalty, Valerio Rinicella this time made it onto the rostrum, one second behind MP Motorsport team-mate Kucharczyk.

Georg Kelstrup was just behind Rinicella in fourth and ahead of Kirill Smal and Hugh Barter, who duelled on the opening lap but finished where they started. Charlie Wurz took seventh and Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak was eighth despite another lap-one wide moment.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 11 laps
2 Tymoteusz Kucharczyk MP Motorsport +4.086s
3 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +5.168s
4 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing +5.511s
5 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +6.675s
6 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +7.125s
7 Charlie Wurz Campos Racing +8.503s
8 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +9.082s
9 Filip Jenic Campos Racing +10.612s
10 Robert De Haan VAR/Monlau Motorsport +11.128s
11 Gael Julien Drivex School +12.020s
12 Bruno del Pino Drivex School +12.706s
13 Manuel Espirito Santo Teo Martin Motorsport +14.177s
14 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +14.611s
15 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +15.445s
16 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones +16.287s
17 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport +16.729s
18 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport +18.725s
19 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +19.073s
20 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones +21.272s
21 Anshul Gandhi Cram Motorsport +21.773s
22 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +22.073s
23 Lola Lovinfosse Teo Martin Motorsport +24.446s
24 Jef Machiels VAR/Monlau Motorsport +41.439s
Ret Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School
Ret Ricardo Gracia GRS
Ret Daniel Nogales Teo Martin Motorsport
Fastest lap: Tsolov, 1m43.554s

Championship standings
 Kucharczyk 79   2 Tsolov 69   3 Inthraphuvasak 52   4 Barter 50   5 Rinicella 29   6 Jenic 28   7 Zanfari 26   8 Kelstrup 26   9 Smal 18   10 Wurz 17