Home Featured Esterson takes maiden GB3 win in race two at Donington

Esterson takes maiden GB3 win in race two at Donington

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Max Esterson led from start to finish to take his first GB3 Championship victory in race two at Donington Park.

The Douglas Motorsport driver led away from pole, but was immediately challenged by race one winner Callum Voisin, who started from the outside of the front row.

The pair went wheel-to-wheel through the Craner Curves, but Voisin was squeezed wide through Old Hairpin and bounced across the grass, before rejoining in sixth behind his Carlin team-mate Roberto Faria.

That allowed Hitech GP’s Luke Browning, who had passed Joel Granfors into Redgate, to move into second.

Browning, who retired from race one in a first-lap incident with Granfors and Matthew Rees, remained within a second of Esterson throughout the 12-lap contest. Having been able to challenge for the lead, Browning finished 0.762 seconds behind.

Granfors also bounced back from his race one non-finish to finish 2s further adrift in third, but dropped to second in the championship behind Browning.

Elite Motorsport’s James Hedley survived an early off at Fogarty to take fourth, ahead of Faria.

Voisin had a second excursion at Old Harpin, conceding sixth to JHR Developments’s Rees.

Elite’s Lebbon was eighth, ahead of Arden’s Alex Connor, who lost ground with a poor start from fifth.

Javier Sagrera was 10th for Carlin ahead of Arden’s Nico Christodolou and Chris Dittmann Racing’s McKenzy Cresswell.

Race result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport 16m47.380s
2 Luke Browning Hitech GP +0.762s
3 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +3.357s
4 James Hedley Elite Motorsport +5.540s
5 Roberto Faria Carlin +5.983s
6 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +6.506s
7 Callum Voisin Carlin +8.369s
8 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +10.143s
9 Alex Connor Arden +10.712s
10 Javier Sagrera Carlin +13.147s
11 Nico Christodoulou Arden +13.647s
12 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing +15.864s
13 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +17.113s
14 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport +21.425s
15 Cian Shields Hitech GP +25.532s
16 Zak Taylor Arden +26.383s
17 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +27.975s
18 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed +28.554s
19 Bryce Aron Hitech GP +29.457s
20 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +29.820s
21 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +32.336s
22 David Morales Arden
Fastest lap: Esterson, 1m23.123s

Championship standings
 Browning 153   2 Granfors 151   3 Faria 143   4 Esterson 133   5 Lebbon 124   6 Voisin 109   7 Rees 97   8 Cresswell 97   9 Hedley 95   10 Bennett 95