Home Formula 4Italian F4 Tim Tramnitz tops practice for Italian F4 finale

Tim Tramnitz tops practice for Italian F4 finale

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Tim Tramnitz, chasing second place in the Italian Formula 4 standings, went fastest in free practice for the final round at Monza.

AKM Motorsport’s Lorenzo Patrese continued his testing form at the circuit by going fastest in FP1 on Friday morning, setting a 1m54.090s late on to push champion Ollie Bearman off top spot.

Van Amersfoort Racing driver Bearman had missed pre-event testing due to being at Silverstone for the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award assessments, but was immediately on the pace after flying straight to Italy overnight.

Patrese’s benchmark was over a quarter of a second faster than Bearman, with Prema’s Conrad Laursen a further 0.004 seconds behind, but the Italian rookie was then unable to improve on his laptime in the afternoon.

Tramnitz came to the fore in FP2, although it was Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli who sar at the top by almost two thirds of a second for much of the session until one of two late red flags.

After the first one there was a margin of seven minutes for drivers to get flying laps in, and Joshua Dufek – who had also briefly been on top in FP1 – went fastest for VAR before Tramnitz posted a 1m53.365s with just over a minute to go.

Nobody had a chance to beat him before red flags were waved again, and non-improver Patrese who was only 14th fastest in the session ended the day 11th overall.

Behind Tramnitz, Dufek and Fornaroli were Joshua Duerksen (Mucke Motorsport), Piotr Wisnicki (Jenzer Motorsport), Sebastian Montoya (Prema), Erick Zuniga (Mucke) and Bearman.

Prema’s part-timers Maceo Capietto and Andrea Kimi Antonelli completed the top 10.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m53.365s 30
2 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.478s +0.113s 31
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m53.642s +0.277s 27
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m53.674s +0.309s 23
5 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.699s +0.334s 27
6 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m53.788s +0.423s 28
7 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport 1m53.790s +0.425s 23
8 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.793s +0.428s 31
9 Maceo Capietto Prema 1m54.018s +0.653s 28
10 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m54.066s +0.701s 26
11 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m54.090s +0.725s 28
12 Oliver Gray BVM Racing 1m54.117s +0.752s 31
13 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport 1m54.156s +0.791s 25
14 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m54.167s +0.802s 28
15 Robert De Haan Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.316s +0.951s 31
16 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m54.324s +0.959s 29
17 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m54.348s +0.983s 28
18 Kirill Smal Prema 1m54.447s +1.082s 28
19 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.571s +1.206s 30
20 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport 1m54.713s +1.348s 27
21 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m54.748s +1.383s 28
22 Marcos Flack Cram Motorsport 1m54.767s +1.402s 15
23 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m54.769s +1.404s 29
24 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m54.790s +1.425s 28
25 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.798s +1.433s 28
26 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.869s +1.504s 28
27 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing 1m54.921s +1.556s 14
28 Rocco Mazzola Cram Motorsport 1m55.342s +1.977s 30
29 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m55.410s +2.045s 29
30 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.469s +2.104s 29
31 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx 1m55.572s +2.207s 30
32 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m55.706s +2.341s 16
33 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport 1m55.722s +2.357s 28
34 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m56.249s +2.884s 30
35 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m56.295s +2.930s 32