Home Featured Ticktum sets record lap to takes Macau GP qualification race pole

Ticktum sets record lap to takes Macau GP qualification race pole

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Macau Grand Prix

Dan Ticktum took pole position for the Macau Grand Prix qualification race with a record breaking lap around the Guia Circuit.

The 2017 winner became the first person to break the 2m10s barrier, clocking in a lap of 2m09.910s, almost half a second clear of his nearest rival Callum Ilott.

Motopark driver Ticktum had led Carlin’s Ilott in Thursday’s first qualifying session, and the two Formula 1 juniors were also near the front in free practice.

Ilott’s Carlin team-mate Sacha Fenestraz was the surprise of the session, taking third on the grid ahead of last year’s poleman Joel Eriksson. The Motopark driver’s final flying lap was ruined by ThreeBond driver Yuhi Sekiguchi hitting the barriers at the final corner and collecting the DTM race-winner.

Eriksson’s team-mate Juri Vips also had his final lap compromised, and will start his first race as a Red Bull junior from 14th place. Marino Sato, another of the Motopark drivers, also crashed late on and caused a brief scare for the approaching Ilott. Despite ending his session early, the Japanese driver still qualified seventh.

Hitech GP’s Jake Hughes improved on the time that put him fourth in Q1, but dropped two spots to sixth.

Guan Yu Zhou was the fastest of Prema Theodore Racing’s quintet entry in fifth place. He’d rarely appeared in the top 10 prior to setting his personal best, and usurped team-mate Mick Schumacher, who had topped both free practice sessions but made two costly mistakes in qualifying, limiting him to ninth. Marcus Armstrong also beat Schumacher, but prematurely ended his session after crashing at the Melco hairpin. Ralf Aron completed the top 10.

B-MAX Racing duo Yuhi Sekiguchi and Alex Palou failed to better their Q1 times, and qualified 11th and 13th, sandwiching Prema’s Robert Shwartzman. Their team principal?Ryuji ‘Dragon’ Kumita was slowest overall, but was importantly within 110% of the pole time, meaning he can race.

Ferdinand Habsburg, who starred at Macau last year, qualified 15th, ahead of Japanese F3 champion Sho Tsuboi and Enaam Ahmed, who both crashed.

Macau rookie Frederik Vesti was the top?Van Amersfoort Racing driver in 18th place, with his team-mates Sophia Floersch and Keyvan Andres in 20th and 25th. Both had messy sessions, with Andres intertwining with Carlin’s?Yoshiaki Katayama at Lisboa early on.


Combined qualifying results
Pos Name Team Q1 Q2
1 Dan Ticktum Motopark 2m11.004 2m09.910
2 Callum Ilott Carlin 2m11.136 2m10.353
3 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin 2m11.707 2m10.580
4 Joel Eriksson Motopark 2m11.732 2m10.991
5 Guan Yu Zhou Prema Theodore Racing 2m12.078 2m11.130
6 Jake Hughes Hitech GP 2m11.498 2m11.155
7 Marino Sato Motopark 2m13.392 2m11.262
8 Marcus Armstrong Prema Theodore Racing 2m12.039 2m11.329
9 Mick Schumacher Prema Theodore Racing 2m11.433 2m11.382
10 Ralf Aron Prema Theodore Racing 2m12.704 2m11.446
11 Yuhi Sekiguchi B-MAX Racing 2m11.674 2m12.180
12 Robert Shwartzman Prema Theodore Racing 2m13.038 2m11.746
13 Alex Palou B-MAX Racing 2m11.775 2m12.498
14 Juri Vips Motopark 2m11.980 2m11.855
15 Ferdinand Habsburg Motopark 2m11.917 2m12.027
16 Sho Tsuboi TOM’S 2m11.966 2m13.137
17 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP 2m11.998 2m12.661
18 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing 2m14.014 2m12.104
19 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 2m12.598 2m12.189
20 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 2m12.517 2m13.641
21 Ritomo Miyata TOM’S 2m12.646 2m12.680
22 Charles Leong Hitech GP 2m14.970 2m12.943
23 Sena Sakaguchi Toda Racing 2m14.668 2m13.041
24 Ukyo Sasahara ThreeBond 2m16.571 2m13.514
25 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing 2m13.554 2m14.659
26 Toshiki Oyu Toda Racing 2m14.067 2m15.026
27 Yoshiaki Katayama Carlin 2m19.521 2m15.681
28 Ryuji ‘Dragon’ Kumita B-MAX Racing 2m24.135 2m21.771