Home Formula 3Euroformula Teppei Natori and Carlin dominate second EF Open Barcelona race

Teppei Natori and Carlin dominate second EF Open Barcelona race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Teppei Natori led from lights-to-flag for his first Euroformula Open victory in a dominant race for Carlin at Barcelona.

The Japanese youngster, whose best previous finish this year is sixth, was untouchable in the hot conditions and took victory by a massive 5.563 seconds.

Carlin had the strongest package across the grid, despite a variety of set-ups and tyre choice combinations within the team, and Natori’s team-mates Nicolai Kjaergaard, Billy Monger and Christian Hahn finished second, third and fourth behind him.

Kjaergaard went for a combination of two new and two old tyres, which gave the Dane a steady car as his fuel load decreased. Monger went for an all-new set of rubber, and had a dash problem midway through the race when he was closing in on Kjaergaard.

Recently crowned champion Marino Sato initially looked like he’d break Carlin’s hold over the top four, but the Motopark driver ended up not having an answer to Hahn and ended up being preoccupied holding off his Red Bull-backed team-mates Liam Lawson and Yuki Tsunoda.

Teo Martin Motorsport’s Lukas Dunner, Sato’s sole title rival until the first race of the weekend, made an incredible start from ninth on the grid but then got squeezed through Turn 2 and lost the positions he had gained.

He ended up finishing where he started, sandwiched by Double R Racing pair Linus Lundqvist and Jack Doohan.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Teppei Natori Carlin 17 laps
2 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +5.563s
3 Billy Monger Carlin +7.672s
4 Christian Hahn Carlin +9.886s
5 Marino Sato Motopark +14.274s
6 Liam Lawson Motopark +15.033s
7 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +15.481s
8 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +16.692s
9 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +17.367s
10 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +18.874s
11 Niklas Krutten Motopark +19.706s
12 Cameron Das Motopark +21.528s
13 Ido Cohen Carlin +30.264s
14 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +31.877s
15 Rui Andrade Drivex School +34.106s
Fastest lap: Natori, 1m38.360s

Championship standings

1 Sato 297? ?2 Dunner 166? ?3 Lawson 154? ?4 Lundqvist 122? ?5 Tsunoda 116? ?6 Kjaergaard 99? ?7 Julian Hanses 98? ?8 Monger 86? ?9 Hahn 84? 10?Natori 81