Home Formula FordFFord Festival Team USA’s Ferguson triumphs in second Festival Progression race

Team USA’s Ferguson triumphs in second Festival Progression race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

Team USA scholar William Ferguson won the second Formula Ford Festival Progression race at Brands Hatch to qualify for the semi-finals.

There was a brief downpour as the cars commenced their two formation laps, with BRSCC chairman Peter Daly leading away from pole at the start.

Ammonite Motorsport’s Ferguson rose from ninth to second on the opening lap before taking the lead away from Daly exiting Graham Hill Bend next time by.

Daly spun at McLaren on lap four, allowing Graham Brunton Racing’s Jake Cowden to move into second, the Team Canada scholar having started the race from 10th.

Ferguson controlled the remainder of the 12-lap contest, coming home almost six seconds clear of Cowden.

Tom McArthur – whose car was repaired after a scary Saturday crash – briefly ran third after Daly’s early spin, but was soon passed by Border Reivers driver James Penrose and B-M Racing’s Megan Gilkes, who had started from the back of the field.

Penrose remained ahead of the GB4 driver to finish third, while McArthur came home fifth.

Oliver Chapman held the last semi-final berth in sixth for most of the race, but picked up a 5s penalty for exceeding track limits. Daly recovered from his off to catch Chapman late on, but slid off into the gravel at the final corner of the race.

Despite incurring an additional 5s penalty, Chapman kept his sixth place, having finished well clear of Souley Motorsport’s Leanne McShane.

Race result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 William Ferguson Ammonite Motorsport 12m47.720s
2 Jake Cowden Graham Brunton Racing +5.864s
3 James Penrose Border Reivers +8.565s
4 Megan Gilkes B-M Racing +11.564s
5 Tom McArthur Simon Hadfield Motorsport +16.813s
6 Oliver Chapman OCI +38.171s
7 Leanne McShane Souley Motorsport +49.301s
8 Stuart Kestenbaum Don Hardman Racing +1 lap
9 Lorna Vickers Shaws Motorsport +1 lap
10 Ben Hadfield Shaws Motorsport +1 lap
11 Alan Slater Swift Cooper +1 lap
12 James Fettiplace +1 lap
Ret Peter Daly Shaws Motorsport
Fastest lap: Ferguson, 1m02.270s