Home Formula FordFFord Festival Team USA Scholarship names its three 2020 winners

Team USA Scholarship names its three 2020 winners

by Ida Wood

Photo: Elliot Wood

Bryce Aron, Jackson Lee and Simon Sikes have been selected as the three winners of the Team USA Scholarship for 2020.

Lee and Aron will join Low Dempsey Racing for the BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 season finale on October 10 on Silverstone’s International layout, then will contest the Formula Ford Festival and Walter Hayes Trophy with the team.

Aron has already been part of LDR’s line-up this year in FF1600 in the UK, and is seventh in the National points after the Oulton Park season opener.

The 16-year-old is also second in the Castle Combe FF1600 points but is missing today’s (Saturday) title decider to focus on the final two Champion of Brands races, having finished second, third and third in the first three races of the year. He also finished third and first in this year’s Champion of Cadwell races.

In 2019, Aron came third in America’s F1600 Championship Series in his first season racing single-seaters.

F1600 is where Sikes and Lee are racing this year and are currently one-two in the points.

Lee, 18, debuted in F1600 in 2019 but concentrated mostly on Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series. His full-time move to F1600 with Rice Race Prep has so far resulted in two wins.

Recent USF2000 debutant Sikes sits 52 points ahead of Lee when dropped scores are taken into account, and the 19-year-old Group 6 driver has won six races. Two years ago he finished fifth in the more powerful F2000 Championship Series.

Due to his plans to see out the USF2000 season with Legacy Autosport, having picked up a best finish of fourth in his six races in the series so far, Sikes will miss the Festival and WHT. He will receive alternative prizes that include a Lamborghini Super Trofeo test drive.

Team USA Scholarship founder Jeremy Shaw said: “This has been a challenging year for everyone, which is why I am even more grateful than usual to all of the wonderful supporters who make this program possible.

“The selection process this year has been especially complicated. There has been no way to hold our usual interview process during an IndyCar weekend, nor continue the excellent and enlightening shootout hosted for the past few years by the Lucas Oil School of Racing.

“But with the help and encouragement of so many people, we are delighted to confirm Bryce, Jackson and Simon as worthy recipients. I am confident they will learn a great deal from the experience and follow capably in the footsteps of so many talented American racers over the past 30 years.”