Home News Sundaramoorthy starts USF2000 season with breakthrough win

Sundaramoorthy starts USF2000 season with breakthrough win

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

Yuven Sundaramoorthy converted pole position into his first USF2000 victory in the season-opening race at Barber Motorsports Park.

Pabst Racing driver Sundaramoorthy, who hadn’t previously finished higher than fifth in two full seasons in USF2000, retained the lead at the start just ahead of fellow front-row starter Prescott Campbell.

On lap two there was a full-course caution for incidents involving Myles Rowe, Matt-Round Garrido and Dylan Christie.

When the race restarted after six of 20 laps had been completed, Sundaramoorthy had to to defensive from DEForce Racing driver Campbell, who was also in search of a maiden victory.

Later though, Sundaramoorthy could pull away and win by over two seconds as Campbell fell into the clutches of third-placed Josh Pierson, who was only four tenths of a second behind as he joined team-mate Sundaramoorthy in notching up his maiden podium.

Michael d’Orlando, the highest-placed driver from 2020 to return this season, couldn’t keep pace with the front three and the Cape Motorsports driver had to defend from the charging Exclusive Autosport pairing of Christian Brooks and Billy Frazer.

Both Brooks and Frazer had got past Spike Kohlbecker on the restart, then gained another spot when debutant Jace Denmark ran off track out of fifth position.

Brooks managed to get alongside d’Orlando with two laps to go but had to settle for fifth, while Frazer was the top rookie in sixth after starting 12th on the grid.

Race results (20 laps)
Pos Name Team Time/Gap
1 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 32m11.865s
2 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing +2.3321s
3 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing +2.7285s
4 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +5.8890s
5 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +6.3881s
6 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +6.7071s
7 Spike Kohlbecker Cape Motorsports +7.2986s
8 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing +8.6904s
9 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport +9.3802s
10 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +11.1377s
11 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing +11.5673s
12 Jackson Lee Jay Howard Driver Development +13.4546s
13 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports +18.4392s
14 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development +18.5956s
15 Grant Palmer Exclusive Autosport +18.9926s
16 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development +19.9779s
17 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport +27.1247s
18 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +27.4056s
19 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing +29.6553s
20 Evan Stamer Cape Motorsports +33.2251s
21 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports +38.1265s
22 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport +5 laps
Ret Andre Castro Legacy Autosport
Ret Peter Vodanovich Jay Howard Driver Development
Ret Myles Rowe Force Indy
Ret Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport
Fastest lap: Siegel, 1m21.5837s

Championship standings
1 Sundaramoorthy 32   2 Campbell 25   3 Pierson 22   4 d’Orlando 19   5 Brooks 17   6 Frazer 15   7 Kohlbecker 14   8 Denmark 13   9 Green 12   10 Porto 11