Home Featured Sun Yue Yang achieves maiden British F3 win at Donington Park

Sun Yue Yang achieves maiden British F3 win at Donington Park

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Carlin

Carlin’s Sun Yue Yang achieved his maiden BRDC British Formula 3 win in the second Donington Park race, as team-mate Billy Monger secured pole for race three.

Yang started the race from pole position for the reverse grid race, but lost first place to Fortec Motorsports’ Tom Gamble at Turn 1 on the opening lap after getting a slow start and holding up the pack behind at the start.

The race was red flagged due to Manuel Maldonado stopping in the gravel, with Jamies Caroline and Chadwick both going into the pits to work on their cars, with the race restarting in the original order with Renault Formula 1 junior Yang heading the pack.

A multi-car incident at the first turn that involved championship leader Linus Lundqvist meant the safety car was back out quickly, and it wasn’t until the second restart that Yang was able to pull away up front.

Monger claimed the fastest lap of the race to give him pole position for race three after the Carlin driver had to pit after the second safety car to replace the nosecone.

After having to restart back in sixth position after originally leading the race when the red flag came out before the end of the first lap, Gamble again made position after the restart to move to third with three minutes to go. He was able to pass Double R Racing’s Pavan Ravishankar later on to claim second place.

Hampus Ericsson, brother of F1 driver Marcus, finished in fourth place in his second race British F3 race and ahead of Douglas Motorsport’s Max Defourny.

Hillspeed’s Sasakorn Chaimongkol ended the race in sixth place and less than two-tenths of a second ahead of Fortec’s Krishnaraaj Mahadik, who finished on the podium in the first race of the weekend.

Ayrton Simmons and Joshua Mason finished eighth and ninth, who lost positions on each of the starts and did well to still finish in the top 10.

Caroline took the first restart of the race after the red flag from the pit lane, but was able to take advantage of the multi-car collision to move into 10th by the chequered flag.

Cian Carey, also in his second race in the championship, finished 11th, with Carlin’s Nicolai Kjaergaard behind him in 12th and reducing Lundqvist’s championship lead.


Race results (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Sun Yue Yang Carlin 15m54.680s
2 Tom Gamble Fortec Motorsports +1.734s
3 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +3.743s
4 Hampus Ericsson Fortec Motorsports +4.135s
5 Max Defourny Douglas Motorsport +4.761s
6 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +5.308s
7 Krishnaraaj Mahadik Fortec Motorsports +5.477s
8 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +7.615s
9 Josh Mason Lanan Racing +8.056s
10 Jamie Caroline Carlin +8.232s
11 Cian Carey Chris Dittmann Racing +12.018s
12 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +13.653s
13 Jamie Chadwick Douglas Motorsport +16.171s
14 Ben Hurst Hillspeed +16.920s
15 Billy Monger Carlin +22.434s
Ret Kush Maini Lanan Racing
Ret Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing
Ret Jusuf Owega Hillspeed
Ret Arvin Esmaeili Douglas Motorsport
Ret Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Monger, 1m25.832s

Championship Standings
1?Lundqvist 486? ?2 Kjaergaard 407? ?3 Maini 340? ?4?Gamble 332? ?5 Mahadik 303? ?6 Maldonado 255? ?7?Monger 249? ?8 Chadwick 218? ?9?Yang 208? ?10?Chaimongkol 206