Home Featured Schumacher dominant again at Red Bull Ring as Ticktum crashes out

Schumacher dominant again at Red Bull Ring as Ticktum crashes out

by Craig Woollard

Mick Schumacher won his fifth successive European Formula 3 race at the Red Bull Ring, as title contender Dan Ticktum crashed out in the closing stages.

Prema driver Schumacher controlled the 22 lap race from the front, despite the presence of the safety car on three occasions.

The championship leader had to resist race-long pressure from team-mate Marcus Armstrong. On the final restart, Ferrari juniors Robert Shwartzman and Armstrong duelled, leaving Schumacher to build a significant gap before the final safety car came out.

The race ended under the safety car, as Ticktum, Sacha Fenestraz and Jehan Daruvala were all wiped out as the trio of F1 junior drivers unsuccessfully tried to go three-wide while fighting over seventh.

Armstrong prevailed in the battle with Shwartzman, ending a six race podium drought. Juri Vips finished fourth, after an excellent battle with Jonathan Aberdein early in the race.

Ralf Aron had a quiet run to fifth, finishing ahead of Aberdein. Fabio Scherer recovered from a lowly 22nd?on the grid to finish in seventh, ahead of Austrian Ferdinand Habsburg, Guan Yu Zhou and Sophia Floersch, who scored her first point in F3 after a race-long fight with Enaam Ahmed.

The two other safety cars came as a result of an opening lap collision between Sebastian Fernandez and Keyvan Andres, and for another collision later on involving Artem Petrov and Alex Palou. Daruvala and Nikita Troitskiy also had contact while fighting over ninth, which resulted in the latter driver going airborne.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 35m47.756s
2 Marcus Armstrong Prema +0.348s
3 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.747s
4 Juri Vips Motopark +1.140s
5 Ralf Aron Prema +2.463s
6 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +5.251s
7 Fabio Scherer Motopark +5.575s
8 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +7.640s
9 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +8.625s
10 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +9.337s
11 Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP +9.874s
12 Ben Hingeley Hitech GP +11.217s
13 Marino Sato Motopark +11.885s
14 Julian Hanses Carlin +12.429s
15 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +14.093s
Ret Sacha Fenestraz Carlin
Ret Dan Ticktum Motopark
Ret Jehan Daruvala Carlin
Ret Alex Palou Hitech GP
Ret Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Nikita Troitskiy Carlin
Ret Sebastian Fernandez Motopark
Ret Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing
Championship Standings
1?Schumacher 311? ?2?Ticktum 268? ?3?Armstrong 250? ?4?Vips 238? ?5?Aron 217.5? ?6?Shwartzman 216? ?7?Palou 172? ?8?Ahmed 168? ?9?Zhou 167??10 Daruvala 118.5