Home News Suleiman Zanfari fastest on day one of Spanish F4’s Barcelona test

Suleiman Zanfari fastest on day one of Spanish F4’s Barcelona test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

MP Motorsport topped every session on day one of Spanish Formula 4’s in-season Barcelona test, with Suleiman Zanfari fastest overall.

Gil Molina was the quickest MP driver at first, setting the pace in session one by 0.272 seconds ahead of Campos Racing’s Sebastian Ogaard. MP’s Rik Koen and Global Racing Service’s Vladislav Ryabov were the only others within half a second.

MP’s new champion Dilano van’t Hoff was just 13th, slower than karter and Giancarlo Fisichella student Valerio Rinicella.

Of the 29 drivers entered, only MP’s development driver Miron Pingasov didn’t set a laptime, but did get on track.

Van’t Hoff shot to the top in the second morning session, 1.6s faster than Molina’s previous benchmark. This time Pepe Marti (Campos) chased, albeit 0.562s back, ahead of Filip Jenic (Teo Martin Motorsport) and Ogaard.

Pingasov got within a second of the pace but Drivex School’s Juuso Laukkanen was eight seconds off. The Finn did international junior karting last year, and for 2021 stepped up to X30 Senior karts in Finnish series.

Van’t Hoff was fastest again in the first afternoon session, but on the warmer track couldn’t match his morning pace. Zanfari was a tenth slower than him, while many of the morning pacesetters failed to improve.

Of the 12 whose pace stagnated, all bar Campos’s Alex Partyshev, Drivex’s Lucas Malek and van’t Hoff were able to go faster in the final session. Van’t Hoff didn’t participate, and Max Arkhangelskiy – third in session three – was among those who failed to find more pace.

Zanfari headed Ogaard by a massive 0.651s, meaning they ended the day first and third overall. Formula de Campeones’ Daniel Macia, Marti, MP’s Noah Degnbol and Ryabov were all within a tenth of Ogaard, while Drivex’s Noam Abramczyck caused a late red flag.

Also testing was Danish F4 star Noah Stromsted, linked to Spanish F4 for 2022, Mexican karter Ricardo Escotto and Anshul Gandhi.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 1m46.557s 68
2 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m46.850s +0.293s 59
3 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing 1m47.208s +0.651s 57
4 Daniel Macia Formula de Campeones 1m47.213s +0.656s 76
5 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m47.216s +0.659s 61
6 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport 1m47.255s +0.698s 65
7 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 1m47.277s +0.720s 69
8 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 1m47.280s +0.723s 74
9 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport 1m47.324s +0.767s 45
10 Manuel Espirito Santo MP Motorsport 1m47.339s +0.782s 61
11 Rik Koen MP Motorsport 1m47.404s +0.847s 56
12 Gil Molina MP Motorsport 1m47.457s +0.900s 68
13 Quique Bordas Formula de Campeones 1m47.552s +0.995s 74
14 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing 1m47.579s +1.022s 74
15 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport 1m47.715s +1.158s 57
16 Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsport 1m47.731s +1.174s 57
17 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School 1m47.751s +1.194s 75
18 Noah Abramczyk Drivex School 1m47.762s +1.205s 74
19 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 1m47.810s +1.253s 56
20 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport 1m47.810s +1.253s 74
21 Alex Garcia Campos Racing 1m47.897s +1.340s 59
22 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport 1m48.226s +1.669s 79
23 Valerio Rinicella GRS 1m48.256s +1.699s 80
24 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing 1m48.279s +1.722s 63
25 Anshul Gandhi GRS 1m48.356s +1.799s 79
26 Ricardo Escotto Formula de Campeones 1m48.735s +2.178s 76
27 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School 1m48.782s +2.225s 67
28 Lukas Malek Drivex School 1m49.160s +2.603s 70
29 Juuso Laukkanen Drivex School 1m54.087s +7.530s 69