Home Formula 4British F4 Stewart holds off Coseteng in British F4 for maiden car racing win

Stewart holds off Coseteng in British F4 for maiden car racing win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Oliver Stewart held off Eduardo Coseteng to take his first British Formula 4 victory in the Thruxton reversed-grid race.

Stewart locked up a number of times in the final laps, but managed to keep control of his car and took the chequered flag just 0.190 seconds ahead of his Hitech GP team-mate.

Stewart got a good start from pole, while Coseteng jumped Adam Fitzgerald at the start. The two were soon joined by Daniel Guinchard, then broke away from the rest of the field.

Coseteng and Guinchard kept the pressure on Stewart, but couldn’t find a way past.

Behind them, Joseph Loake came through to fourth, having dived past Louis Sharp when the latter locked up attempting a move on Fitzgerald. There was a significant gap to Guinchard ahead, but Loake rapidly closed in.

By the end of the race, it was a four-car train for the race lead. Despite the lock-ups, Stewart had enough to hold off Coseteng and Guinchard.

Behind them, some strong defence from Fitzgerald earned him his best result of the season in fifth. Ollie Gray picked up sixth, ahead of Sharp.

It was a difficult race for championship leader Alex Dunne. He was battling Fitzgerald inside the top 10 when he spun and dropped to the back of the field. He was able to recover to 10th, but wouldn’t score any points from the race.

His title rivals Aiden Neate and Ugo Ugochukwu however only finished seventh and eighth, meaning they only scored two points and one point each respectively.

Georgi Dimitrov also ran into trouble with an incident late on and came to a stop off track.

Race result (17 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Oliver Stewart Hitech GP 20m33.224s
2 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP +0.190s
3 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport +0.408s
4 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +0.770s
5 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport +5.760s
6 Ollie Gray Carlin +6.580s
7 Louis Sharp Carlin +7.865s
8 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport +10.104s
9 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin +10.558s
10 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +11.965s
11 Edward Pearson Virtuosi +16.702s
12 Michael Shin Virtuosi +23.030s
13 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +24.607s
14 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP +41.304s
15 Divy Nandan Chris Dittmann Racing +42.524s
Ret Noah Lisle JHR Developments
Ret Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments
Fastest lap: Dunne, 1m11.348s

Championship standings
Dunne 357   Gray 276   3 Ugochukwu 221   4 Sharp 190   5 Neate 180   6 Loake 175   7 Coseteng 155   8 Dimitrov 151   9 Guinchard 144   10 Stewart 97