Home Formula 2 Stefano Coletti victorious in final GP2 race of 2014

Stefano Coletti victorious in final GP2 race of 2014

by Peter Allen
Stefano Coletti

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

GP2 veteran Stefano Coletti claimed the final win of the 2014 season in the Abu Dhabi sprint race.

From second on the grid, the Monegasque driver swooped around the outside of pole-sitter Arthur Pic at the first corner. He ran quite wide onto the run-off, but emerged in the lead and the manoeuvre didn’t attract the stewards’ attention.

From there he pulled away, winning by 3.7s as he collected his seventh win in the series.

Felipe Nasr enjoyed a strong first lap from fifth of the grid, taking second place away from Pic. He held that position until the end of his final race before making his Formula 1 debut for Sauber next March. Pic took his third podium of the campaign.

The race was processional for the most part, but livened up in the closing stages as fourth-placed Johnny Cecotto lost pace and was swamped by those behind him. Stephane Richelmi and Mitch Evans went either side of him under braking for turn 11, only to both run deep and miss the corner.

Evans gave up position to Cecotto, while Richelmi continued ahead and finished fourth, but is under investigation for not respecting track limits. Evans passed Cecotto cleanly one lap later.

Stoffel Vandoorne was aiming to hold on to the runner-up spot in the championship that he had claimed by winning the feature race away from Nasr, but Nasr’s second place would have given him the position by one point while Vandoorne was running seventh.

However, the Belgian worked throughout the race to secure the two bonus points for fastest lap, and then made sure of P2 by taking sixth place in the race away from Cecotto.

Cecotto held onto seventh ahead of Raffaele Marciello, with Sergio Canamasas and Takuya Izawa completing the top ten.

Jolyon Palmer‘s championship-winning season ended with his first non-finish of the year, when he spun on the opening lap while dicing with Evans and stalled.

Update: Richelmi was indeed penalised for exceeding track limits, with and extra 20 seconds dropping him out of the points to ninth.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 22 laps in 41:37.752
2 Felipe Nasr Carlin +3.787
3 Arthur Pic Campos Racing +5.357
4 Mitch Evans Russian Time +29.288
5 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix +12.701
6 Johnny Cecotto Trident +13.764
7 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering +18.708
8 Sergio Canamasas Trident +19.217
9 Stephane Richelmi DAMS +24.383
10 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix +29.345
11 Julian Leal Carlin +29.608
12 Rio Haryanto Caterham Racing +30.191
13 Nathanael Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus +30.561
14 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport +36.411
15 Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus +36.817
16 Simon Trummer Rapax +37.962
17 Nicholas Latifi Hilmer Motorsport +41.580
18 Pierre Gasly Caterham Racing +42.156
19 Artem Markelov Russian Time +44.492
20 Kevin Giovesi Rapax +46.210
21 Marco Sorensen MP Motorsport +47.308
22 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing +47.687
23 Rene Binder Arden International +48.331
24 Andre Negrao Arden International +53.145
Not classified
Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport +22 laps
Jolyon Palmer DAMS +22 laps