Home Featured Smolyar takes F3 pole in mixed up Hungaroring qualifying

Smolyar takes F3 pole in mixed up Hungaroring qualifying

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Alexander Smolyar took FIA Formula 3 pole position at the Hungaroring, as traffic and track limits mixed up the grid.

Qualifying was red flagged with three minutes to go when Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan stopped on track, and left the field with little time to set a lap when the session restarted.

MP Motorsport’s Smolyar, who was already top of the order, improved to set a 1m32.740s lap that earned him his first pole since the 2020 round at the circuit.

Reece Ushijima jumped up to second, 0.063 seconds behind, but had his laptime deleted for exceeding track limits and dropped back to 19th.

Zane Maloney, who also improved as he took the chequered flag, was therefore promoted to the front row of the grid.

A number of drivers, including title contender Arthur Leclerc and Ollie Bearman, missed out on a chance to complete their final qualifying lap as the chequered flag was out before they got around to the start/finish line.

Both drivers had been at the sharp end of the field before the final runs. Leclerc had been in the progress of setting a strong laptime when the red flags were waved and he was forced to abandon that lap.

He would have to settle for fourth place, and starts alongside Prema team-mate Bearman who was 0.04s quicker.

Ushijima was far from the only person to have his laptime deleted. Jonny Edgar had briefly topped the times before dropping down the order as others found improvements. He then had his next best effort deleted and qualified 15th.

Juan Manuel Correa and Oliver Goethe were among those who also had times deleted but it wasn’t their best laps and it meant Campos Racing’s Goethe will start from reversed grid pole on his debut in Saturday’s sprint race as he qualified 12th.

Gregoire Saucy was fifth quickest, ahead of Kush Maini and Jak Crawford. Championship leader Victor Martins was eighth, with main rival Isack Hadjar 10th.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m32.740s 10
2 Zane Maloney Trident 1m32.866s +0.126s 11
3 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m32.872s +0.132s 10
4 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m32.912s +0.172s 10
5 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m32.941s +0.201s 12
6 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m32.944s +0.204s 12
7 Jak Crawford Prema 1m33.009s +0.269s 10
8 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m33.040s +0.300s 11
9 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m33.054s +0.314s 10
10 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m33.075s +0.335s 11
11 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.086s +0.346s 12
12 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m33.106s +0.366s 13
13 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m33.124s +0.384s 12
14 Roman Stanek Trident 1m33.193s +0.453s 11
15 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m33.204s +0.464s 11
16 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m33.217s +0.477s 11
17 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.271s +0.531s 12
18 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m33.414s +0.674s 12
19 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.516s +0.776s 12
20 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.710s +0.970s 12
21 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m33.748s +1.008s 12
22 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m33.759s +1.019s 10
23 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.763s +1.023s 12
24 Christian Mansell Charouz Racing System 1m34.041s +1.301s 12
25 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m34.115s +1.375s 12
26 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m34.206s +1.466s 11
27 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m34.229s +1.489s 12
28 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m34.391s +1.651s 10
29 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m34.961s +2.221s 11
30 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.680s +2.940s 8