Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Smolyar fastest in FIA F3 practice at Hungaroring

Smolyar fastest in FIA F3 practice at Hungaroring

by Sam Williams

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Alexander Smolyar went fastest in free practice for the fourth round of the FIA Formula 3 Championship season at the Hungaroring.

The Russian driver came out on top after late improvements which brought him up the order to take first place in the final minutes of the session.

Series returnee Jake Hughes impressed early, hitting the ground running by sitting comfortably in the top 10. The British driver is a late signing for Carlin, as he stands in for the injured Kaylen Frederick.

David Schumacher was also one to watch early on as he made his way to first place on the timesheet.

As the weather heated up, so did the laptimes in the final minutes of practice and most teams went out at the end on new sets of fresh rubber.

Prema’s Dennis Hauger took second on his final run, while team-mate Ollie Caldwell ended up fifth at the chequered flag as Trident drivers Schumacher and Clement Novalak spoiled the party, rising up to third and fourth with their final laps.

ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti was sixth fastest, and Hughes contined his early-session form to come seventh. He was narrowly faster than Lorenzo Colombo, who impressed for Campos Racing to end free practice in eighth.

A closely matched ninth and 10th were Hitech GP’s Honda and Red Bull junior Ayumu Iwasa and HWA Racelab’s Matteo Nannini, who was just 0.640s off Smolyar’s pace.

Jack Doohan, currently third in the standings in the third of Trident’s cars, was a lowly 17th in practice and 1.4s slower than Smolyar. Similarly, Victor Martins – fifth in the points – could only manage to go 28th fastest and was 2.358s back while MP Motorsport team-mates Caio Collet and Tijmen van der Helm were 22nd and 30th.

Free practice results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m33.112s 18
2 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m33.294s +0.182s 16
3 David Schumacher Trident 1m33.426s +0.314s 17
4 Clement Novalak Trident 1m33.449s +0.337s 15
5 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m33.609s +0.497s 18
6 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m33.615s +0.503s 18
7 Jake Hughes Carlin 1m33.691s +0.579s 18
8 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m33.721s +0.609s 19
9 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m33.743s +0.631s 19
10 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m33.752s +0.640s 16
11 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m33.814s +0.702s 18
12 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m33.831s +0.719s 16
13 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m34.009s +0.897s 16
14 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.015s +0.903s 18
15 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m34.257s +1.145s 15
16 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m34.418s +1.306s 19
17 Jack Doohan Trident 1m34.512s +1.400s 16
18 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m34.533s +1.421s 17
19 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m34.608s +1.496s 19
20 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m34.696s +1.584s 18
21 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m34.778s +1.666s 17
22 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m34.848s +1.736s 18
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m34.896s +1.784s 16
24 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m35.076s +1.964s 20
25 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m35.118s +2.006s 19
26 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.318s +2.206s 17
27 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.355s +2.243s 20
28 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m35.470s +2.358s 15
29 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m35.636s +2.524s 14
30 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m36.372s +3.260s 17