Home News Smal sets pace in Spanish F4 practice at Valencia

Smal sets pace in Spanish F4 practice at Valencia

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

MP Motorsport’s Kirill Smal was the fastest driver in across Spanish Formula 4’s two free practice sessions at Valencia’s Ricardo Tormo circuit.

Smal set the pace in FP1, going 0.175 second faster than Campos Racing’s points leader Nikola Tsolov.

Several drivers occupied first place early on, with Lola Lovinfosse first to the top before being usurped by Robert de Haan, Daniel Nogales and then de Haan again. When he returned to the top the first of the three-minute stop-go penalties for track limits abuse came in, with Daniel Macia and Alvaro Garcia being the first recipients. Garcia and Lovinfosse later got black flagged too.

Tsolov set a 1m34.414s with 17 minutes remaining to go 0.071 seconds quicker than Hugh Barter, before the Campos pair peeled into the pits as the fastest two. Their team-mate Georg Kelstrup was third until the final seven minutes, when Smal lapped within 0.13s of Tsolov.

On his next effort he then went fastest, setting a 1m34.239s as MP team-mate Timoteusz Kucharczyk rose to fourth place.

Nobody was able to better Smal’s time, and Tsolov and Barter remained in the pits, while Ricardo Escotto and Manuel Espirito Santo also got black flagged regarding track limits.

Drivex School’s Gael Julien only set two laps as he stopped on track, but be rebounded by going fastest in FP2.

Garcia was the first to lay down a benchmark, with Julien beat with a 1m35.021s lap. Kelstrup then bettered him, with Smal just 0.003s slower as Julien soon sank to eighth after being handed a three-minute stop-go.

Once on track again he got faster though, laying down a 1m34.617s to top the session and go sixth overall in the combined timesheet. Nogales and Vladislav Ryabov also got stop-go, while Bruno del Pino was black flagged for not serving his.

With three minutes to go Smal went second fastest, but down on his FP1 time, as most drivers sat in the pits. Gracia and Miron Pingasov were the last two to get stop-gos, and Pingasov didn’t seem to have a set laptime, and Macia ended the session with a black flag.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport 1m34.239s 22
2 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 1m34.414s +0.175s 19
3 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m34.485s +0.246s 19
4 Filip Jenic Campos Racing 1m34.493s +0.254s 24
5 Timoteusz Kucharczyk MP Motorsport 1m34.608s +0.369s 17
6 Gael Julien Drivex School 1m34.617s +0.378s 20
7 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing 1m34.763s +0.524s 23
8 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m34.768s +0.529s 22
9 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport 1m34.837s +0.598s 18
10 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 1m34.853s +0.614s 22
11 Christian Ho MP Motorsport 1m34.881s +0.642s 21
12 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones 1m34.984s +0.745s 29
13 Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing 1m34.993s +0.754s 23
14 Anshul Gandhi Cram Motorsport 1m34.995s +0.756s 38
15 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones 1m35.018s +0.779s 28
16 Bruno del Pino Drivex School 1m35.035s +0.796s 28
17 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 1m35.059s +0.820s 24
18 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport 1m35.060s +0.821s 28
19 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 1m35.092s +0.853s 23
20 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport 1m35.094s +0.855s 36
21 Daniel Macia Teo Martin Motorsport 1m35.166s +0.927s 32
22 Daniel Nogales Teo Martin Motorsport 1m35.468s +1.229s 38
23 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1m35.481s +1.242s 27
24 Lola Lovinfosse Teo Martin Motorsport 1m35.704s +1.465s 29
25 Maxim Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 1m35.724s +1.485s 25
26 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 1m35.978s +1.739s 18
27 Ricardo Gracia GRS 1m35.744s +1.505s 36
28 Matteo De Palo GRS no time 0