Home News Siegel takes USF2000 Barber race two pole in DEForce 1-2-3

Siegel takes USF2000 Barber race two pole in DEForce 1-2-3

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

Nolan Siegel led a DEForce Racing 1-2-3 covered by less than a hundredth of a second as he took pole position for the second race of the USF2000 curtain-raiser at Barber Motorsports Park.

Myles Rowe sat atop the times for the new African American-led Force Indy team when the session was halted inside the final 10 minutes to recover the stopped car of Jackson Lee from Turn 16.

After the restart, Siegel posted a new record lap of 1m20.9794s to go top with two-and-a-half minutes to go.

Siegel’s team-mates Kiko Porto and Prescott Campbell soon moved into second and third respectively, and both improved their times before the finish but fell agonisingly short of pole – Campbell 0.0074s away as he joined Siegel on the front row and Porto 0.0094s behind in third.

Rowe found a late improvement on his previous benchmark to take fourth, with F1600 Series graduate Dylan Christie in fifth for Turn 3 Motorsport.

Josh Pierson and Michael d’Orlando were both factors in the fight for pole but ended up sixth and seventh respectively, with the top 10 completed by Josh Green, Christian Brooks and Jace Denmark.

After taking pole for race one, Yuven Sundaramoorthy had to make do with 15th.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m20.9794s 10
2 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing 1m20.9868s +0.0074s 10
3 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m20.9888s +0.0094s 10
4 Myles Rowe Force Indy 1m21.0748s +0.0954s 11
5 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport 1m21.1864s +0.2070s 10
6 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing 1m21.2368s +0.2574s 10
7 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m21.2743s +0.2949s 11
8 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m21.3005s +0.3211s 9
9 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport 1m21.3130s +0.3336s 8
10 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m21.3483s +0.3689s 10
11 Spike Kohlbecker Cape Motorsports 1m21.4340s +0.4546s 11
12 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports 1m21.5101s +0.5307s 7
13 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m21.6252s +0.6458s 11
14 Andre Castro Legacy Autosport 1m21.6739s +0.6945s 8
15 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m21.7164s +0.7370s 10
16 Peter Vodanovich Jay Howard Driver Development 1m21.8145s +0.8351s 11
17 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport 1m21.9375s +0.9581s 8
18 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing 1m21.9748s +0.9954s 10
19 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development 1m21.9778s +0.9984s 11
20 Grant Palmer Exclusive Autosport 1m22.0695s +1.0901s 10
21 Evan Stamer Cape Motorsports 1m22.0807s +1.1013s 7
22 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development 1m22.2269s +1.2475s 11
23 Jackson Lee Jay Howard Driver Development 1m22.2834s +1.3040s 6
24 Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport 1m22.3673s +1.3879s 8
25 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m22.6777s +1.6983s 10
26 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 1m22.8997s +1.9203s 11