Home Formula 2 Shwartzman tops red-flagged Monaco F2 practice

Shwartzman tops red-flagged Monaco F2 practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema’s Robert Shwartzman came out on top of a twice red-flagged free practice session for Formula 2 in Monaco.

The first stoppage came just a few minutes in, at which point DAMS’ Roy Nissany was fastest with a 1m35.534s lap, as Trident’s Marino Sato ground to a halt at the exit of Ste Devote.

There was just over half an hour to go when the session restarted, and it was Campos Racing pair Ralph Boschung and Gianluca Petecof that then shot to the top by breaking the 1m30s barrier. Virtuosi Racing’s Felipe Drugovich also got involved in the short battle to be fastest as after six minutes of green flag running the session was stopped again.

It was once again down to a car stopping on the hill after Ste Devote, and this time it was caused by a major engine failure for Petecof that may put his participation in the rest of the weekend at risl.

The second restart was light on action, with another six minutes going by without drama before Trident’s Bent Viscaal crashed and race control opted for a full course yellow.

In the end that left 10 minutes for drivers to go for flying laps, and Hitech GP’s Juri Vips rose to the challenge first as he dropped the pace down to a 1m23.244s, over a second faster than Carlin’s Dan Ticktum in second place. An improvement by 0.6 seconds extended Vips’ gap at the top of the timesheet, before other drivers found the limits in the final five minutes.

Marcus Armstrong (DAMS), Theo Pourchaire (ART Grand Prix), Liam Lawson (Hitech) and Boschung were all briefly in second place as the gap to Vips was brought down before, before Shwartzman put in a 1m22.424s with just under two-and-a-half minutes to go.

That gave him time to set one more lap, and he improved to 1m22.041s. He was running on Pirelli’s supersoft compound tyre, while Ticktum went second fastest on the soft tyre and was half a second slower. Vips was shuffled down to third, ahead of Drugovich, Oscar Piastri (Prema), Boschung, Lawson, Armstrong and Virtuosi’s points leader Guanyu Zhou.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m22.041s 21
2 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m22.564s +0.523s 23
3 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m22.628s +0.587s 19
4 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi 1m22.663s +0.622s 21
5 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m22.980s +0.939s 21
6 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m23.019s +0.978s 20
7 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m23.253s +1.212s 21
8 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m23.364s +1.323s 24
9 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m23.444s +1.403s 21
10 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m23.523s +1.482s 23
11 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m23.555s +1.514s 21
12 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport 1m23.585s +1.544s 21
13 Jack Aitken HWA Racelab 1m23.599s +1.558s 20
14 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m23.679s +1.638s 22
15 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m23.829s +1.788s 24
16 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m24.014s +1.973s 22
17 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m24.748s +2.707s 19
18 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m25.418s +3.377s 20
19 Gianluca Petecof Campos Racing 1m25.993s +3.952s 9
20 Bent Viscaal Trident 1m28.896s +6.855s 11
21 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 1m29.355s +7.314s 19
22 Marino Sato Trident no time 3