Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship David fastest in practice on FREC’s first trip to Monaco

David fastest in practice on FREC’s first trip to Monaco

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

R-ace GP’s Hadrien David set the pace in Formula Regional European Championship’s first ever competitive session on a street circuit in Monaco free practice.

The Frenchman spent much of the session disputing first place on the timesheet with Arden’s Alex Quinn, although it was ART Grand Prix’s points leader Gregoire Saucy who was fastest early on.

However after setting his benchmark 1m36.560s lap, Saucy only completed one more lap and didn’t drive again during the 40-minute session.

Quinn was quick to knock three seconds off Saucy’s lap, before David took out another second, and they then started trimming tenths of a second off their personal bests.

It looked like Quinn was going to be fastest after setting a 1m30.446s that David initially couldn’t better, but he left it late to go even faster with a 1m30.202s.

ART GP’s Gabriele Mini and R-ace’s Isack Hadjar jumped up to third and fourth in the final seconds, but over half a second slower than David, and that shuffled R-ace’s third driver Zane Maloney down to fifth.

FA Racing’s Andrea Rosso was consisently on the pace and he ended up sixth, with Thomas ten Brinke (ART GP) and Paul Aron (Prema) the only other two drivers within a second of the pace.

MP Motorsport pair Kas Haverkort and Franco Colapinto were ninth and 10th fastest, while Lorenzo Fluxa was the top Van Amersfoort Racing driver in 11th with a final-minute improvement.

At the bottom of the timesheet was R-ace’s Lena Buhler, Saucy and KIC Motorsport’s Nico Gohler who did get to learn the track but did not set a flying lap.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m30.202s
2 Alex Quinn Arden +0.224s
3 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +0.518s
4 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +0.640s
5 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +0.697s
6 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +0.769s
7 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +0.839s
8 Paul Aron Prema +0.915s
9 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +1.116s
10 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +1.192s
11 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +1.336s
12 David Vidales Prema +1.340s
13 Brad Benavides DR Formula +1.485s
14 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +1.796s
15 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +1.801s
16 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +1.863s
17 William Alatalo Arden +1.902s
18 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +1.908s
19 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +1.912s
20 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +2.071s
21 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +2.158s
22 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +2.343s
23 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +2.399s
24 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +2.994s
25 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +3.017s
26 Alessandro Famularo G4 Racing +3.191s
27 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing +3.440s
28 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +3.612s
29 Dino Beganovic Prema +4.128s
30 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +4.332s
31 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +4.619s
32 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +6.358s
33 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport no time